Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really great, basic recipe. I always add a bit of relish because I like a little more tang. Also good with a chopped up egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Okay, I'm not a huge rye bread fan, so I substited sourdough. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and my tuna melts turned out amazing. I have made them several times now, and they are sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerstinaurora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
OUT-OF-THE-PARK! I use twice as much celery and onion then called for, This is the BEST tuna salid i have EVER tasted, Even if your just making a tuna sandwitch, you will never make it the old way you used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this last night...first tuna melt I have ever eaten so I can't compare it to others but I must say it was FANTASTIC! It did taste "fishy" which surprised me, not much like tuna salad but it was a good "fishy" taste. I felt like I was eating at a nice seafood restaurant. I used Brownberry whole wheat bread since that is all I had. This will certainly go into my favorite recipe book that I keep. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The red wine vinegar really adds a whole new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very good! I made a couple slight changes due to what i had: i didnt use tomato as i dont like it, used cheddar because i didnt have swiss and i added a small amount of chopped pickled jalapeno to give it a little kick. The red wine vinegar really adds a lot to this! Do not skip it! I really enjoyed this easy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
My husband actually commented after he took a few bites that this was like restaurant quality! I added a tiny bit more onion to ours and used homemade sourdough bread from our breadmaker since neither of us are a fan of rye but otherwise followed the directions. After seeing some reviewers say the tomato made it soggy i pressed our slices between some paper towels to get the juices out before putting on the sandwich. Next time I'll try to use fresh parsley but the dried worked ok for us. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Really good. The vinegar is a great idea; don't skip it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very bland & dry. Kids HATED it, husband thought it was decent & healthy (which it is). UPDATE: My review was edited to remove my recommended changes..."Could benefit from more mayo, addition of olives to mix & put slice of bacon under tomato b4 topping with second layer of cheese". Hopefully this edit will not be cut as my other review was cut ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States