Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great Recipe! I use French Bread instead of Rye and Provolone instead of Swiss and I get rave reviews. This recipe makes the best tuna melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpaul03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I like the flavor of this tuna salad much better than the traditional recipe I've always used (pickle relish, mayo, celery) I used whole wheat bread and it tasted great. The fresh parsley really made the flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Oh man this was one of the best tuna melts I've ever had. I never liked tuna too much until recently. I used english muffin's because I didn't have rye. I also forgot the paprika but added just a little more onion. Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Excellent light meal for a hot night here in Pensacola! I did use some ciabatta bread that I had on hand. I broiled that until toasty and then topped with the tuna (made exactly as stated) and then the cheese, tomato, and cheese. Baked that for about 10 minutes at 425. The tuna was juicy enough, I was afraid it might be too dry. I'll make this again for a easy meal on a hot night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My favorite tuna melt thus far. The red wine vinegar makes it pop. The tuna stayed moist. I do use a different type of bread and cheese as I am not a fan of rye or Swiss, but that's a matter of personal preference and doesn't affect the overall flavor of the tuna. My husband and I always use this recipe when making tuna melts at home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very tasty! I add a half of a cap of lemon juice to give it some zing. I also found that two full slices of cheese is a bit much- I put just one slice over the top only, otherwise the cheese takes over everything. I also just put my bread in the toaster first for about 45 seconds, then assemble the sandwiches, then finish under the broiler. Don't worry if the tuna seems a little dry- with the tomatoes and cheese, these sandwiches are plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Awesome! This is the perfect tuna melt; however, for a richer taste, I left out the vinegar and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this for my husband and he LOVED it! I'd already made my tuna and I didn't add celery because I didn't have any. I added 1 tsp of pickle relish with the rest of the listed ingredients then broiled as directed. Needless to say, no leftovers! Perfect lunch. Thank you CookingirlLJ. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not a huge tuna eater typically, but this was really good. Only change I made is an English muffin instead of rye bread and I scaled it down to one serving. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
The name says it all! Loved this! I've been stuck on the old boiled egg, mayo & sweet relish for years! How refreshing to have a "light" tuna salad with a great taste. Loved the addition of the red wine vinegar. Thanks soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States