Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Loved it enjoyed as a latennight snack quick and simple. I didn't use rye bread I used wheat instead. Swiss cheese accompanied the red wihne vinegar knocks this tuna melt out the park. Great recipe for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
GREAT recipe! As others mentioned, this makes me re-think the idea of tuna sandwich the classic way (tuna, mayo, slice of american cheese). The vinegar is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
As a poor college student exhausted after classes, this melt saved me from the imminent hunger that would have ensued. As I dragged myself into the kitchen, I started to reach for the old staple insta ramen. And then, I saw it: the huge can of tuna I had completely forgotten about for the past few weeks. But I didn't want just normal mayo-tuna infused slop on wet mushy bread. No, I was gonna fancy it up. This recipe made even a hopeless cook feel good, and the melt was fantastic. The red wine vinegar seriously makes the melt, and the Swiss cheese kinda cements it together in this gooey, crunchy, crispy combo that I absolutely adore. I'd give it more than just 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this for my boyfriend and he loves it! I used honey dijon mustard instead of mayonnaise and it turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was really good but it was not that much better than regular tuna melts I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This IS the tuna salad sandwich that I eat at a deli and crave at home. If anything, I have been enlightened to the benefit of red wine vinegar added to a tuna salad recipe. If you like sweet pickle relish in your tuna salad, it will still work here....I've done it! I do believe rye is the very best bread for a traditional tuna melt. But, I have experimented with other cheeses like cheddar and dill havarti with wonderful results. I also have to say that caramelized onions takes this sandwich to a crazy good level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My family loves this recipe we live in jersey and they'd rather have this then any of the local diners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Just made this about 20 minutes ago for a late lunch. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it! At first I wasn't going to add in the red wine vinegar because I didn't have any at home, but I decided to run to the store and get some. I would highly recommend not throwing out the vinegar! It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States