Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
My husband said this is the best tuna melt he has EVER had. And I don't know anyone who likes tuna melts as much as him, so I was impressed! The best advice in the recipe was to broil the bread both sides and then take out and top with tuna, cheese, tomatoes, etc. In the past we've always had problems with the bottom of the bread being too soft. So thank you for that hint! Also, I love the idea of layering cheese, tomatoes, cheese. It tasted so good (even though the tomato made it a bit juicy to eat - it was worth it) Now, the only addition I have to your recipe is to put a little bit of fresh chopped garlic in--it enhances the flavor to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Iowa, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
YUMMO!! I've lived in Jersey all my life and being that our state has more diners than any other in the nation, I've eaten in many, anywhere from Bergen County down to Cape May County. I order these great open faced sandwiches all the time. The thought of adding vinegar to the tuna never occured to me and I must say that it was a great addition. I skipped the salt (tuna alone has tons) added red onion and much more mayo. I'm not crazy about melted swiss, so I used my favorite Vermont cheddar. I'm a tuna nutcase, so this was the PERFECT lunch for me today! So good Linda and thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I'm a New Englander, so I've never had a Jersey-style tuna melt before. This was amazing! I will definitely add raw onion and wine vinegar to my tuna from now on. I recommend to everyone out there to keep the vinegar. I had to use sharp cheddar instead of Swiss, but it was still fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
One of the best tuna melts my husband and I have ever had - we love it! I use whole grain bread instead of rye bread and american cheese instead of swiss. Tastes delicious! I've made this recipe 3 times in the past 2 weeks already! Great with chips and fresh carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Good use of red wine vinegar to avoid dry tuna as opposed to adding more mayo, which can taste terrible. I liked this. Didn't use rye though...used Italian rolls (toasted insides on a griddle) and baked in a low-temp pre-heated oven for a few minutes to melt cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I signed up for the site just to be able to give this recipe a 5. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is the Best Tuna Melt! The red wine vinegar definitely makes the tuna salad. I didn't have rye bread or swiss cheese so I used a whole grain bread and cheddar cheese combo. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Man were these fantastic! I loved the upscale taste of this twist on an old classic. I didn't have red wine vinegar so just used balsamic and it was just fine. I also hate tomatoes so left them out without a problem. My only suggestion...make as much as you can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This tuna melt was AMAZING!!! The tuna salad had perfect flavor. I was nervous about onion in tuna but it was delicious. We used both Swiss and cheddar cheese and it tasted just like the sandwiches served right here at diners in the Garden State (I am from NJ)! Serve it up with chips and a dill pickle for a super-tasty meal. The tuna salad is delicious enough to be eaten by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
These were very good. I used different cheeses to each family member's taste. I also used Texas toast bread, since I didn't have any Rye on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States