Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I like a little more mayo in my tuna It was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I just made a very different version of this- but it was amazing. My dad, who can be a very harsh critic LOVED it. I didnt have celery or parsley, so I substituted that with fresh cilantro, put in a green chilli ( deseed it if you find that too hot) a pinch if cayenne pepper. Here's the trick- instead of mayo - put a garlic cream spread. And I topped it with Kraft cheddar cheese. I then used sesame buns and toasted it till it got crunchy and perfect. Everyone loved it. Try this out, you won't regret it :) It didnt get soggy and the Tuna wasnt dry. And It wasn't too cheesy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is hands down the best sandwich I have ever had. The only thing I did different was leave out the tomatoes because my husband doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delish! Instead of using rye bread, we used 12-grain we had on hand. We also didn't include tomato, as both my fiance and I don't like it. We used pepperjack instead of swiss too. Def the best tuna salad ever! It will become my staple recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shear_Rebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made these last night. They were good but having read the reviews I was expecting much more. I followed the recipe but didn't have celery, just omitted it since we don't care for it any way. Tasted like a good tuna sandwich but nothing more. I won't go to the trouble of using the broiler again for a tuna sandwich. I normally put mine on toast with a slice of tomato, which I would say is equal in taste to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Used this recipe for some leftover tune salad I had. I had 1/2 a white leftover batard bread, just cut it in half, added the rest of the ingredients and just had the best lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I didn't have bread or tomato. I mixed it up and put it on Triscuits! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Mmm! I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so mine was made without celery, on sourdough, and with american "cheese" but it was SUPER yummy, easy, and totally hit the spot! Will make again for sure (hopefully with the actual ingredients)! I see this being my fall-back tuna melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krixee
Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
lovely recipe, I've had melt sandwiches before but never made one at home, this was a great one. I left off the tomato since I didn't have any and switched out the rye bread for a sandwich thin and swiss for provelone. nex time I'll definitely try adding some tomato since it sounds nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States