Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Not bad. While I prolly won't make this again (I prefer my personal recipe a *tad* better), I'm glad to have given this a try nonetheless. My husband is not a tuna salad fan and even he commented that this is the best he's ever had so this can't be THAT bad lol. :) Although decent, I felt this was a tad dry for my liking. I had to add more mayo to achieve the texture I wanted. I also had to add more vinegar to get the tang I was looking for (it was barely noticeable, IMHO). Pumpernickel bread was a perfect choice for our sandwiches. Milk shakes (compliments of Steak 'n Shake!), fries, coleslaw and pickle spears rounded out our meal and made us feel like we were eating at an actual diner - NJ style. :-) Thanks for sharing your recipe with the AR community, COOKINGIRLLJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was good. pretty basic. Of course I forgot to put cheese below the tomato so maybe that would of made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was pretty good. I don't like rye bread, so I substituted some of the Kings Hawaiian sandwich rolls, and I also don't really like Swiss, so I instead used some American cheese slices. And I don't use red wine vinegar, so I substituted rice vinegar, which seemed to work pretty well. Next time, I would probably reduce the amount of parsley (I used 1 tsp. dry) and maybe add in a little Mrs. Dash to give the tuna a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was good, but I substituted Greek yogurt for the mayonaisse and left out the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really great, basic recipe. I always add a bit of relish because I like a little more tang. Also good with a chopped up egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Okay, I'm not a huge rye bread fan, so I substited sourdough. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and my tuna melts turned out amazing. I have made them several times now, and they are sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerstinaurora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
OUT-OF-THE-PARK! I use twice as much celery and onion then called for, This is the BEST tuna salid i have EVER tasted, Even if your just making a tuna sandwitch, you will never make it the old way you used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this last night...first tuna melt I have ever eaten so I can't compare it to others but I must say it was FANTASTIC! It did taste "fishy" which surprised me, not much like tuna salad but it was a good "fishy" taste. I felt like I was eating at a nice seafood restaurant. I used Brownberry whole wheat bread since that is all I had. This will certainly go into my favorite recipe book that I keep. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The red wine vinegar really adds a whole new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States