Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very tasty! I add a half of a cap of lemon juice to give it some zing. I also found that two full slices of cheese is a bit much- I put just one slice over the top only, otherwise the cheese takes over everything. I also just put my bread in the toaster first for about 45 seconds, then assemble the sandwiches, then finish under the broiler. Don't worry if the tuna seems a little dry- with the tomatoes and cheese, these sandwiches are plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Awesome! This is the perfect tuna melt; however, for a richer taste, I left out the vinegar and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this for my husband and he LOVED it! I'd already made my tuna and I didn't add celery because I didn't have any. I added 1 tsp of pickle relish with the rest of the listed ingredients then broiled as directed. Needless to say, no leftovers! Perfect lunch. Thank you CookingirlLJ. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not a huge tuna eater typically, but this was really good. Only change I made is an English muffin instead of rye bread and I scaled it down to one serving. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
The name says it all! Loved this! I've been stuck on the old boiled egg, mayo & sweet relish for years! How refreshing to have a "light" tuna salad with a great taste. Loved the addition of the red wine vinegar. Thanks soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Not bad. While I prolly won't make this again (I prefer my personal recipe a *tad* better), I'm glad to have given this a try nonetheless. My husband is not a tuna salad fan and even he commented that this is the best he's ever had so this can't be THAT bad lol. :) Although decent, I felt this was a tad dry for my liking. I had to add more mayo to achieve the texture I wanted. I also had to add more vinegar to get the tang I was looking for (it was barely noticeable, IMHO). Pumpernickel bread was a perfect choice for our sandwiches. Milk shakes (compliments of Steak 'n Shake!), fries, coleslaw and pickle spears rounded out our meal and made us feel like we were eating at an actual diner - NJ style. :-) Thanks for sharing your recipe with the AR community, COOKINGIRLLJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was good. pretty basic. Of course I forgot to put cheese below the tomato so maybe that would of made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was pretty good. I don't like rye bread, so I substituted some of the Kings Hawaiian sandwich rolls, and I also don't really like Swiss, so I instead used some American cheese slices. And I don't use red wine vinegar, so I substituted rice vinegar, which seemed to work pretty well. Next time, I would probably reduce the amount of parsley (I used 1 tsp. dry) and maybe add in a little Mrs. Dash to give the tuna a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was good, but I substituted Greek yogurt for the mayonaisse and left out the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States