Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hayley
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
As a poor college student exhausted after classes, this melt saved me from the imminent hunger that would have ensued. As I dragged myself into the kitchen, I started to reach for the old staple insta ramen. And then, I saw it: the huge can of tuna I had completely forgotten about for the past few weeks. But I didn't want just normal mayo-tuna infused slop on wet mushy bread. No, I was gonna fancy it up. This recipe made even a hopeless cook feel good, and the melt was fantastic. The red wine vinegar seriously makes the melt, and the Swiss cheese kinda cements it together in this gooey, crunchy, crispy combo that I absolutely adore. I'd give it more than just 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this for my boyfriend and he loves it! I used honey dijon mustard instead of mayonnaise and it turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was really good but it was not that much better than regular tuna melts I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This IS the tuna salad sandwich that I eat at a deli and crave at home. If anything, I have been enlightened to the benefit of red wine vinegar added to a tuna salad recipe. If you like sweet pickle relish in your tuna salad, it will still work here....I've done it! I do believe rye is the very best bread for a traditional tuna melt. But, I have experimented with other cheeses like cheddar and dill havarti with wonderful results. I also have to say that caramelized onions takes this sandwich to a crazy good level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My family loves this recipe we live in jersey and they'd rather have this then any of the local diners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Just made this about 20 minutes ago for a late lunch. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it! At first I wasn't going to add in the red wine vinegar because I didn't have any at home, but I decided to run to the store and get some. I would highly recommend not throwing out the vinegar! It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I love this! I added olives and sweet relish (something I've seen my mom do when she makes tuna sandwiches) and lessened the mayo. This is absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar. I also put dill weed in and used American cheese. It came out so good. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States