Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Need to make double the tuna mix next time for 4 slices of bread but otherwise, this was excellent served on pumpernickle bread. Added to favorites. I used green onions instead of regular cooking onion but that's just personal preference. Otherwise didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great combination of flavors. My rye bread was a little small, so we have tons of leftover tuna salad for lunches too! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Best tuna sandwich E V E R! Use more onion, parsley. I've used dill stacker pickles and thick slices tomatoes. You can't go wrong either way. I really like Slap yo Mama seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Nice change from my regular tuna recipes. Easy,fast,delicious and HOT on a cold winter day.Substituted mozzarella for Swiss since that's what I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Love this recipe! However, I did make some changes to suit my taste (no tomato, cheddar cheese, buttermilk bread and made on my griddle by buttering the bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Such a great tuna melt! My husband and I really enjoyed it. Easy to make and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Excellent tip to flip and broil the bread! I switched a few ingredients according to what was in the house. Surprise-it was great! I mixed Albacore tuna, sour cream, celery, red onion, black olives and ready for this? Sauerkraut-leftover from Reuben meal. I put the mixture on french bread and topped it all with sliced Roma tomatoes and extra sharp cheddar cheese. Broiled. Weird but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Loved it! LOL i never even tried it!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samerzzzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have a special place in my heart for New Jersey-style tuna melt sandwiches. My husband, daughter and I really enjoyed this tuna melt! I just made this recipe this evening and the first bite immediately brought me back to my childhood in NJ! DELICIOUS! I will be making this again very soon! Also, I love the addition of vinegar, which I have never added to a classic tuna salad previously; I enjoyed the vinegar flavor so much I doubled its quantity in the recipe. Thank you CookinGirlLJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States