Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Super Easy - just like the recipe says. I made this to give away as gifts to neighbours. I tested this out on my family and I'm finding that my supply stashed in the back of the fridge is dwindling fast! I stirred constantly and did not have any issues with butter pooling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Looking through the reviews, I can't believe people had a problem with this! I've made this recipe for the past 3 years, without a candy thermometer, and I've never had a problem with it. I judge it based on the colour of the toffee as it's boiling. With that being said, this is amazing! Everyone always loves it, and it's always a hit at potlucks. I've made a video of me making it for this Christmas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUPhej9mWew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
If you follow the directions, this comes out perfect with no problems! I have used this recipe for years and everyone who tries it, loves it! My only suggestion is keep stirring until it reaches the 285 degrees and the color is correct toffee color. I use Parchment paper on a cookie sheet and use the same parchment paper around it when cracking to avoid a chocolate mess. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I have been using this recipe for 5 years (200 - 300 lbs). In addition to what mom2oovc said, I would like to add. 1. if you making large batches, I can do a double batch at once in a heavy bottom pot. Here are the tricks. Have the choc chips ready in pre-measured bowls. Pour the toffee equally (by eye) into the one of 2 half sheet pans with parchment paper (I drape over the 4 sides). Spread out the toffee quickly. Then sprinkle the choc chips right away. If you work too slow, the choc doesn't stick well to the toffee after it cools. Note: I tried triple batch but the toffee cooled off too quickly. Instead, I have 2 double batch going at once so I can have 4 batches within 40 minutes. I just adjust the temperature so not all batches are ready at once. 2. It is important to whisk the toffee but the most critical time is before it all comes together in a creamy like material. So, keep whisking. Thereafter, you can whisk every few minutes. 3. Long handled whisk. The toffee cooks up to 300 degrees so if you can, try to get a long whisk from a commercial cooking supply store ($15). 4. The most critical part about the cooking process is that the temp has to be over 300 (I pull mines out at 305). Otherwise, it won't be crispy. I use a thermapen for this. 5. I had a problem one year when some of toffee had really think bottom while others were thinner. I found out that my sheet pan was warped. I hammered it back so it is more even. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Turned out great first try. Used a candy thermometer and followed the directions. I love that this takes only a few ingredients and does not make a big mess..super easy and fast clean-up for a very delicious candy..ummm I won't be buying anymore Almond Rochca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
super easy and tasty! Made it for Christmas goodie exchange at work, and it was a big hit. MUST have a candy thermometer. To add some fun, put nuts on the sheet before pouring out the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this once with great success. Got cocky and, I think, ruined my candy thermometer somehow and burned it the 2nd time, did better a third time and just finished a fourth batch - perfect, delicious, sweet and buttery. I bought raw almonds, toasted them whole in the oven for a few minutes, then used my food processor to chop them into fragrant, chunky pieces. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a delicious, fun and easy candy to make. It smells great when it's cooking and tastes even better when it's done. We're sending this candy to relatives this year for Christmas. I used white bark instead of chocolate and mixed butter and margarine in some of the batches. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this two nights ago and it turned out great. The only thing I changed was the chocolate - I used dark chocolate. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I have never made toffee before and was sort of intimidated by it. This was very easy and it is so delicious. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Classic toffee, or as some call it Almond Rocca. I was reading reviews about the butter pooling, I was taught by an old friend to stir constantly and keep stirring when it separates and once it comes back together that's how you know it's done! This is a great trick, you don't need to worry about a thermometer, I promise! It will be browned and perfect. It helps speed the process to use a large iron skillet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States