Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe without the chocolate or the almonds, which made it a little overly rich. It was still gone within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Amazingly good and easy to make. You can half the recipe and make in a square baking pan if you don't want to store so much if it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this and it has ruined my pan and will have to throw it out. I cooked it until 285° and the toffee burned and the bottom inside of pan has burnt on butter and sugar and is black. My pan is ruined, I cannot get it clean. I stirred it occasionally and it was darker than amber and started smoking. Perhaps my candy thermometer was not working correctly. I used the pan that I use to make jelly and jam with and now I don't have a pan any longer. This apparently for me was not a Super Easy recipe. Bad experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
overall good recipe - good flavor, I add vanilla. having worked this recipe on more than one occasion, I have come to the conclusion that you (PAY ATTENTION HERE FOLKS) YOU ABSOLUTELY MUST TAKE THIS TO 315 DEGREES FARENHEIT PERIOD (hard crack) the toffee will not set properly. it will be more like a quasi crunchy exceptionally chewy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing! Followed the instructions exactly and used my candy thermometer to make sure it all cooked to soft crack stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
So easy and good for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
easy recipe - very impressive. However I will warn you my first batch I did not cook the butter and sugar together long enough and though the flavor was great the results were grainy not candy like. Second time around - I ensured the mixture was heated well, and the toffee was perfect for gift giving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time I took the advice of one reviewer and cooked it to 290 degrees and it had a burned taste to it. This past Christmas I made it again ande cooked it to 285 degrees and it turnedb out perfect. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Perfect!! Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A friend is always the hit of the bake sale with her toffee and refuses to share her recipe. Well, this is every bit as good as hers (and I suspect the same, because how many variations can there be). Maybe I'll make toffee for the next bake sale ... just kidding ... I'd never give it away to strangers! Super easy. I had no prior candy making experience -- had never used a candy thermometer -- and my first batch was a complete success. I was sure I had over-cooked the toffee part, but pored it anyway. Not only was it tasty, it's very pretty. Perfect addition to holiday gift bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States