Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good. I wish the chocolate had melted a little more, but that's probably my own issue, not the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum! This got rave reviews. I opted to make it thinner, but more brittle (cooked it until it was quite dark brown), added vanilla extract and a little extra salt, pretoasted the almonds, and also put almonds into the pan so the almonds were both 1) in the toffee and 2) on top of the chocolate. The tips I got from other reviews that helped a lot: Heat on medium heat only, err on side of cooking too slowly. Should take 20 mins to get to 285 degrees (for softer toffee, or 300-310 for harder toffee), otherwise you are going too fast. Heating slowly also will help you avoid having the butter separate from the sugar (which several other reviewers said they had problems with). Drop toffee into ice water to test if it's ready, should be brittle. Use heavy bottomed pan. Stir only occasionally. Use wooden spoon for even heating. Chilling should take 45-60 mins. If necessary, pour/wipe off extra oil off before adding chocolate to help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My first time making anything like this - it was awesome! Everyone was impressed. I read many many reviews and followed the directions. My butter did separate a bit but it didn't affect the outcome at all. When I poured the toffee onto my pan, the oil ran off to the side and got left behind when it cooled and I picked it up to break it apart. Also, I had no thermometer but after about 20 minutes I dripped a bit into cold water and then fished it out with a spoon and ate it, it was crunchy and melted in my mouth. Doesn't even stick to your teeth, just melts. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am a very experienced cook and this recipe is my Achilles heel. It has taken me as many as 5 tries before it works, although when it does, it's amazing. The only problem is that although I try all the tips in the reviews, I end up with a gritty mess that seperates at the end of the cooking process. My new thought is that I am letting it boil too hard. So, I'll probably give it one more shot because this holiday season, I've wasted 4 lbs of butter and 8 cups of sugar but I'm determined to serve this along side my New Year's eve feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this for Christmas and it turned out great! we used pecans instead of almonds and my mom wanted the nuts in with the toffee instead of on top of the chocolate so we just put the nuts on the parchment paper then poured the toffee on top of them. YUMMY this one has been added to my Christms candy that I make every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Really good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Super Easy - just like the recipe says. I made this to give away as gifts to neighbours. I tested this out on my family and I'm finding that my supply stashed in the back of the fridge is dwindling fast! I stirred constantly and did not have any issues with butter pooling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Looking through the reviews, I can't believe people had a problem with this! I've made this recipe for the past 3 years, without a candy thermometer, and I've never had a problem with it. I judge it based on the colour of the toffee as it's boiling. With that being said, this is amazing! Everyone always loves it, and it's always a hit at potlucks. I've made a video of me making it for this Christmas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUPhej9mWew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
If you follow the directions, this comes out perfect with no problems! I have used this recipe for years and everyone who tries it, loves it! My only suggestion is keep stirring until it reaches the 285 degrees and the color is correct toffee color. I use Parchment paper on a cookie sheet and use the same parchment paper around it when cracking to avoid a chocolate mess. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I have been using this recipe for 5 years (200 - 300 lbs). In addition to what mom2oovc said, I would like to add. 1. if you making large batches, I can do a double batch at once in a heavy bottom pot. Here are the tricks. Have the choc chips ready in pre-measured bowls. Pour the toffee equally (by eye) into the one of 2 half sheet pans with parchment paper (I drape over the 4 sides). Spread out the toffee quickly. Then sprinkle the choc chips right away. If you work too slow, the choc doesn't stick well to the toffee after it cools. Note: I tried triple batch but the toffee cooled off too quickly. Instead, I have 2 double batch going at once so I can have 4 batches within 40 minutes. I just adjust the temperature so not all batches are ready at once. 2. It is important to whisk the toffee but the most critical time is before it all comes together in a creamy like material. So, keep whisking. Thereafter, you can whisk every few minutes. 3. Long handled whisk. The toffee cooks up to 300 degrees so if you can, try to get a long whisk from a commercial cooking supply store ($15). 4. The most critical part about the cooking process is that the temp has to be over 300 (I pull mines out at 305). Otherwise, it won't be crispy. I use a thermapen for this. 5. I had a problem one year when some of toffee had really think bottom while others were thinner. I found out that my sheet pan was warped. I hammered it back so it is more even. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States