Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TSchindel
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love this. Easy and delicious. WATCH THE TEMPERATURE. The toffee cooks fast from 250 degrees to 285 so you've got to keep your eyes glued to it or it'll have a burnt, overcooked taste. I chop my almonds well, unlike the picture which enables the almonds to stick to the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Loved it. So simple and looks like u did a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this perfect the first time i cooked it to 300f and used pecans insted of almonds and didnt use chocolate!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Burned the first batch. Second was perfect! Never buying toffee again. My family loved it. I'm planning on gifting it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Works great. I make 6 or 7 batches of this every year for gifts. Using a candy thermometer makes life a lot simpler! This is the exact temperature you should get it to in my opinion. When it becomes an amber foam, you're there. I like my toffee just soft enough to bite, yet have a just enough crunch to it. If you go much higher temp it become more of a hard brittle. You can also mix it up with some flavored chips too, like mint or white. Just draw a knife edge or spatula through it to make beautiful flavorful swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this using my heavy cast iron dutch oven on the stove top, so easy and SO good! I stirred the entire time, and it was PERFECT, I used Ghirardelli dark melting wafers for the topping, could not taste better. I have not made candy since I was a teen 30 plus years ago...if I can do it you can do it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick Marion
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe worked the first time I tried it I poured the toffe mixture on the nuts and the chips on the warm toffe mixture. The toffe came out not as hard as I thought it would. It still had a nice crunch without being a brick like other recipes I've tried I will do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My first time making Toffee and it came out perfect! I can hardly believe I did it. I discovered that my candy thermometer has little hint settings on it, my toffee was cooked exactly when it said "soft crack (which by the way was at the temp specified in the recipe). I did the ice water test a few times on the way, noticing how it was a bit harder but still soft along the way, I knew it was getting there, when it was ready I Knew it using the ice water test. I did stand over it for the 15 minutes or whatever time it took noticing it getting darker and stirring, keeping watch over the thermometer. I used a tad over medium heat to cook it on my electric stovetop. I am so pleased with the result I can't wait to give it away. (I gave some to my son and his girlfriend as they stopped over and they loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent. If you don't have a candy thermometer like I didn't have, cook till amber brown as it says and drop some in cold water... if is brittle and breaks it is done. I used chopped pecans. LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ScallyW
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tried this for the first time ever tonight and was impressed by how easy it was. I made mine in a small bake tray so that it would be thicker. Didn't have a sugar thermometer as recommended by so many recipes so I played it by ear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States