Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a "don't hover" recipe. Follow what submitter said. Stir good till the butter is melted, stick your candy thermometer in and DONT HOVER! Just stir occasionally until candy thermometer reaches 300. If you stir too often, it will separate. Very easy, and good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First time ever making toffee. this recipe was good, but could use improvement. First the sugar/butter layer was a little thick also sticks to my teeth too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Followed the reviewer tips to stir constantly. Took it off the stove at 295 degrees. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I tried this twice and couldn't get the sugar to melt in so it was very grainy and the butter wants to separate from the sugar, in turn, the toffee would be better used for a nice sugar scrub in the tub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very easy recipe. Used others reviews and buttered the bottom of a large cookie sheet to spread it out thinner. Next time I'll use two large cookie sheets. Added a teaspoon of vanilla and a little extra salt. I used a hand mixer to blend the sugar and butter do to separation. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Crystal Falls, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tasty1225
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I had no problems. Followed the recipe and it came out great! I even posted a picture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was my first time making toffee. I prepared it as described, stirring frequently at first then constantly as the toffee began to darken. This was as easy as described and absolutely yummy. Try this recipe. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is so simple I have enjoyed every calorie to the fullest. Being from Mississippi I substituted the almonds for pecans. To make it even better it is a simple 2,2,2,2. 2 cups sugar 2 cups butter 2 cups chocolate morsels 2 cups pecans. 1 cup pecans goes in toffee right before you pull it off the stove. Last cup goes on top. Just like making a roux you do need to stir constantly till you have the temp. correct
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I followed the reviews and stirred constantly but with a rubber spatula not a whisk. I put tin foil on bottom of 9x13 pan and topped it with trader joes semi sweet and crushed candied walnuts! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegsFreeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This recipe is pretty amazing! I used a skillet to cook the toffee and cooked it for about 10 min. stirring frequently. The key is to not look away. If you turn your head for too long it can go from being almost done to burnt pretty quickly. Mine came out amazing! I took a box of it to work and everyone loved it and my boss actually wanted the recipe :) definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States