Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
AWESOME ! So good. I was always afraid to try toffee but this was so easy and turned out so good. Definitely will be making this every year now for my Christmas plate of goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times with both success and failure. My best suggestion is to start with room temperature butter and mix with the sugar before turning on the heat. Then, continuously stir while melting the butter. This prevents the butter separation that happens easily. I don't bother with a thermometer any more. I just aim for the correct color - the same as store bought toffee candy. If you use mini chocolate chips, it makes more divots in the toffee and it tends to stick better. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have to say, I am always amazed how people change a recipe and do not bother to make the recipe as it is given. I use this recipe and have for several years and it has always turned out wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is awesome and super easy. Wouldn't change a thing. Compliments every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camsmum
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe. Came out as expected, I used hazelnuts omitted the chocolate and I used a knife to perforate lines in the toffee as it cooled so that it broke more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Mine didn't turn out. I waited until it was 300 on medium heat. It did not turn golden brown, did not harden, and is like eating crunchy sugar. I lightly sprayed the wax paper and it still stuck to it. Second attempt making toffee. It did the same thing last year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Piechocki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe at least a dozen times. Every time I get rave reviews and everyone always requests that I make it for Christmas. It is SO good! Much better than most of the stuff you buy at the store, and that's saying a LOT because I LOVE toffee! I do have a couple of suggestions. I cut the butter in half to 1 cup and it is plenty! When I have made it with 2 cups, it was way too buttery! Then you also don't have to worry about separation. Half the butter gives it all the flavor with half the fat! Awesome! I'll take it! Make sure that it turns to a deep amber color before you pull it off the heat too or will be very sticky, almost like caramel, instead of crunchy. My sister made this mistake when she made it because she didn't have a thermometer. I don't actually use a thermometer anymore myself (I did the first couple of times), but I find that if you wait longer it comes out with more flavor and more crunch. So I would agree that you should cook it to closer to 300* instead of 285*. I also like to put the almonds in the toffee because I think it gives them better flavor. I've tried them on top and didn't care for it. I stir the almonds in when the toffee is almost done, probably about a minute left. Then I proceed to melt the chocolate on the top as directed. SO delicious!! We've also tried it with a little sea salt on top. This is a recipe I will be using for a long time. Thank you FUNKYSEAMONKEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was excellent! Made exactly to the recipe and it turned out perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Both ways are delicious. I made the original version and then gave into peer "review" pressure and cooked it to 300 and stirred constantly. Both batches are the same, simply delicious. Not sure what kind of butter people used but mine didn't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Best Toffee Ever! I use this recipe for great gifts in the holidays. I use pecans instead of almonds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States