Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The same recipe as my aunts been making for years and it never fails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Absolutely delicious; it is very sweet and I think would be even better with dark chocolate or half dark and half milk chocolate blended together. We will make this again and plan to make goodie bags for Christmas with this toffee in it. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I have made this toffee for the past few years at Christmas time and everyone is asking for more. I always have to make extra because it never lasts long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davesangel6901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
made this for relatives and friends for Christmas presents. unceliebavly good!!!!! i had to make another batch just for myself so i wouldn't eat the chrismast presents!!!!! :)::):)::) thank you so much for posting this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This one is pretty good. I find that a pound of butter, 2 cups of sugar, 1 pound of candy quick chocolate and chopped walnuts make an excellet toffee too. Use two greased flat baking pans. I like my toffee thinner, not too thick. Def. use the water test..once it carmalizes drop a piece of toffee in a small cup of ice water and do the taste test. Make sure not too cook it too long otherwise it will burn. Layer both sides of the toffee with chocolate and walnuts after it hardens. and break into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent and easy... I made it for my husband for Christmas and it is his new favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Separation Issue: Add 1/4 cup of light corn syrup (helps emulsify the sugar/butter). Also keeps the sugar from crystalizing. Grainy issue: Sugar has crystalized (it only takes one sugar crystal to start the chain reaction) due to not using corn syrup, too high heat or not cooking long enough. DO NOT scrape toffee from sides of pot when pouring out onto pan. Those are where the crystalize sugars (if any) will be and will separate your toffee, even at the end. Burnt issue: Could be the altitude. High altitude affects cooking process. You will have to add/subtract time depending on your altitude. Also, cook at slightly lower temps so it won't go from "done" to "burnt" so fast and/or crystalize. It happens FAST! Sticky, not crunchy issue: Humidity. Too much humidity in the air. Check humidity levels the day you will be making toffee. If it's high, or it's raining/snowing, it will make the candy "chewier." I know candy makers use copper pans. I think this is what remedies the heat distribution issue, but don't quote me on that as I have never cooked it out of anything made of copper. Hope those help. I learned them from about 10 years of trial/error/research. I even asked Dori Greenspan for her ideas on this subject (separating). She knew exactly what I was talking about-how frusterating it is, but had no suggestions. Sometimes candy just doesn't want to "play nice." These tips should reduce the frequency of incidents. It's very tricky to make candy! An art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made this for New Year's Eve, came out decent. I was worried because it appeared that my butter was separating but I still went ahead and put it in the pan and finished the recipe. I think the toffee tasted a little overdone, next time I make it I will probably remove from the heat sooner. Overall people enjoyed this toffee and I will make again and will fine tune and adjust to make it even better. I think I will invest in a heavy-bottom pan before I make again. It appears from other reviews that this is key to a good toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ponytail Goddess
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Absolutely delicious and perfect without any changes! I made this with salted butter and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
A co-worker brought these treats to the office yesterday and it was love at first taste. I didn't realize the recipe would be so easy! I got it right on the first try! I didn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States