Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I can't believe I forgot to rate this fabulous recipe. I made it in Dec 2011 for Christmas trays to take to work. This is wonderful toffee, my first attempt and it turned out perfect. I did have some butter pooling after pouring onto the foil-lined sheet pan, but I just waited until the toffee was beginning to solidify, then tipped the pan and drained the butter off. Then, I topped with the (milk) chocolate, and chopped and toasted almonds. I was a little worried that the chocolate wouldn't stick, but after it had chilled, I broke the toffee into nice generous pieces and it was perfect. An instant read thermometer, like a "Thermapen" makes taking the temp much easier. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
awesome stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tblevins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
next time, line cookie tray with parchment or foil, lay out saltine crackers, pour toffee mixture over crackers, bake at 350 until bubbly sprinkle with good quality chocolate chips and spread, allow to cool voila, you have skor bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. Like any candy do not let it get too hot or it will not set
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I've made this the last few holidays and I keep getting requests for it every year. I do add 1/2-3/4 tsp of french vanilla extract and cook it in cast iron, it seems to magically deepen the flavor. We've also topped the chocolate layer with walnuts or broken pretzel pieces and white choc drizzle. This recipe is simple and delish - Thank you Funkyseamonkey! (I've done it with and without a candy therm, just watch for the right color, consistency and smell, it really is easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for something more crumbly and buttery, sort of like an Ethel M's consistency or Enstrom's, but this was nothing like that. It was dense, sticky and difficult to eat because it sticks to your teeth something awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This toffee was wonderful! Everyone had a fit over it and suggested I should sell it! I cut the recipe in half and made a half batch. The only changes I made was I used 2 sticks of butter and 1 and a half cups brown sugar. I also used dark chocolate chips and sprinkled some sea salt over the top along with the finely chopped almonds. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I use chopped pecans instead of almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
So good! This is really hard to give away when I make it during the holidays...and sometimes I end up keeping a batch for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Really is the best toffee ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States