Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I have been using this recipe for 5 years (200 - 300 lbs). In addition to what mom2oovc said, I would like to add. 1. if you making large batches, I can do a double batch at once in a heavy bottom pot. Here are the tricks. Have the choc chips ready in pre-measured bowls. Pour the toffee equally (by eye) into the one of 2 half sheet pans with parchment paper (I drape over the 4 sides). Spread out the toffee quickly. Then sprinkle the choc chips right away. If you work too slow, the choc doesn't stick well to the toffee after it cools. Note: I tried triple batch but the toffee cooled off too quickly. Instead, I have 2 double batch going at once so I can have 4 batches within 40 minutes. I just adjust the temperature so not all batches are ready at once. 2. It is important to whisk the toffee but the most critical time is before it all comes together in a creamy like material. So, keep whisking. Thereafter, you can whisk every few minutes. 3. Long handled whisk. The toffee cooks up to 300 degrees so if you can, try to get a long whisk from a commercial cooking supply store ($15). 4. The most critical part about the cooking process is that the temp has to be over 300 (I pull mines out at 305). Otherwise, it won't be crispy. I use a thermapen for this. 5. I had a problem one year when some of toffee had really think bottom while others were thinner. I found out that my sheet pan was warped. I hammered it back so it is more even. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Turned out great first try. Used a candy thermometer and followed the directions. I love that this takes only a few ingredients and does not make a big mess..super easy and fast clean-up for a very delicious candy..ummm I won't be buying anymore Almond Rochca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
super easy and tasty! Made it for Christmas goodie exchange at work, and it was a big hit. MUST have a candy thermometer. To add some fun, put nuts on the sheet before pouring out the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this once with great success. Got cocky and, I think, ruined my candy thermometer somehow and burned it the 2nd time, did better a third time and just finished a fourth batch - perfect, delicious, sweet and buttery. I bought raw almonds, toasted them whole in the oven for a few minutes, then used my food processor to chop them into fragrant, chunky pieces. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a delicious, fun and easy candy to make. It smells great when it's cooking and tastes even better when it's done. We're sending this candy to relatives this year for Christmas. I used white bark instead of chocolate and mixed butter and margarine in some of the batches. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this two nights ago and it turned out great. The only thing I changed was the chocolate - I used dark chocolate. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I have never made toffee before and was sort of intimidated by it. This was very easy and it is so delicious. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Classic toffee, or as some call it Almond Rocca. I was reading reviews about the butter pooling, I was taught by an old friend to stir constantly and keep stirring when it separates and once it comes back together that's how you know it's done! This is a great trick, you don't need to worry about a thermometer, I promise! It will be browned and perfect. It helps speed the process to use a large iron skillet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT. JUST GOOD OLD FASHIONED TOFFEE!!! I MADE IT FOR A PARTY AND NOW EVERYONE IS AFTER ME TO EITHER GIVE THEM THE RECIPE OR MAKE THEM A BATCH. I DID ADD 1/2 VANILLA AFTER I TOOK OFF HEAT. A KEEPER~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The first time I made this it was great. The next two times it the butter separated, then the whole thing burned. I don't know whether it turned out bad because I melted the butter before adding the sugar, or something else. Now back to the store to buy more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Really the best toffee around! Easy to make! Key things to know... Use good butter ( it will blend without looking greesy) I chop nuts and put them on the bottom of the pan before I pour the hot toffee mixture~ love extra almonds. Keep it in the fridge until you are ready to serve it ~ won't stick to your teeth when it is super cold! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States