Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this once with great success. Got cocky and, I think, ruined my candy thermometer somehow and burned it the 2nd time, did better a third time and just finished a fourth batch - perfect, delicious, sweet and buttery. I bought raw almonds, toasted them whole in the oven for a few minutes, then used my food processor to chop them into fragrant, chunky pieces. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a delicious, fun and easy candy to make. It smells great when it's cooking and tastes even better when it's done. We're sending this candy to relatives this year for Christmas. I used white bark instead of chocolate and mixed butter and margarine in some of the batches. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this two nights ago and it turned out great. The only thing I changed was the chocolate - I used dark chocolate. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I have never made toffee before and was sort of intimidated by it. This was very easy and it is so delicious. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Classic toffee, or as some call it Almond Rocca. I was reading reviews about the butter pooling, I was taught by an old friend to stir constantly and keep stirring when it separates and once it comes back together that's how you know it's done! This is a great trick, you don't need to worry about a thermometer, I promise! It will be browned and perfect. It helps speed the process to use a large iron skillet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT. JUST GOOD OLD FASHIONED TOFFEE!!! I MADE IT FOR A PARTY AND NOW EVERYONE IS AFTER ME TO EITHER GIVE THEM THE RECIPE OR MAKE THEM A BATCH. I DID ADD 1/2 VANILLA AFTER I TOOK OFF HEAT. A KEEPER~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The first time I made this it was great. The next two times it the butter separated, then the whole thing burned. I don't know whether it turned out bad because I melted the butter before adding the sugar, or something else. Now back to the store to buy more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Really the best toffee around! Easy to make! Key things to know... Use good butter ( it will blend without looking greesy) I chop nuts and put them on the bottom of the pan before I pour the hot toffee mixture~ love extra almonds. Keep it in the fridge until you are ready to serve it ~ won't stick to your teeth when it is super cold! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very easy. Worked better the first time I made it WITHOUT a thermometer! Poured it onto the jelly roll pan just as it started to turn tan color on the bottom and I panicked. It turned out PERFECT. The second time I measured the temperature to 285 and turned it out too soon. Next time will just eyeball it. Although I prefer the flavor of Ghirardelli chocolate chips, they do not melt completely since they are bigger than Nestles. The Nestles taste fine and melt better. I sprinkle chopped almonds on top of my parchment paper and then again on top of the melted chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have never made candy before and this turned out perfect. Just be patient while making because it does need to reach 300*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Poor recipe! Stirring occasionally will result in a broken oily mess! I had to salvage this recipe with cream to re-emulsify. I made Carmel. Baker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States