Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great recipe! I've made this every Christmas for the past 3-4 years and love the taste and ease of making. Toffee is my FAVORITE and this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
have also microwaved this... 1 c. sugar 1/2 c. butter 1/4 c. water 1 tsp. vanilla 1/2 c. semi sweet chocolate chips 1/2 c. chopped nuts Combine sugar, butter and water in a deep 2 quart bowl. Microwave, uncovered 4 minutes. Stir. Microwave, uncovered, 4 to 6 minutes, or until candy reaches the hard crack stage, 300 degrees. Stir in vanilla. Pour onto greased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with chocolate chips. Let stand until chips are softened; spread evenly over toffee. Sprinkle with nuts, pressing them into chocolate. Refrigerate to set. When cool, break into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
yum yum yum used only 1 1/2 cups butter and sugar and a shallow 1/4 tsp salt 1/1/2 cup chic chips perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Do not listen to any of those reviews that tell you to stir constantly. As soon as butter and sugar are incorporated, leave at medium heat and let the toffee work its magic. I stir occasionally and let the mixture reach 300. DO NOT STIR FREQUENTLY, I repeat, DO NOT STIR FREQUENTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was so easy and so fabulous. I do a lot of baking and such, and I think this toffee is the absolute best thing I've ever made. It is fantastic. I had no issue with seperation, and rather than put foil or parchment down, I buttered a cookie sheet. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
this is a super easy recipe!! would have given it 10 stars if i could have, 1st time making toffee and it turned out just like it should have!! if you love toffee, you have to try this recipe, so easy & so worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannon
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Perfect recipe...i sell this for double what it costs to make it, if not more. Ive made this about 20 times already in double batches. i just add 3 drops of vanilla and stir pretty constantly, its ok to walk away for a minute,but no more. get creative, i use slivered almonds mostly, whole on the bottom and broken up ones for the top. MAKE THIS TOFFEE! easy and perfect, just need a candy thermometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This toffee turned out Sooo good!! My family thought it was store bought. While making it, it took a little longer than I thought it would but overall it was an easy recipe to follow. I opted to use Ghiradelli's semi sweet chocolates and I believe it definitely took it up a notch! I think next time I may try adding some vanilla extract to see if that adds more umph. Also, this recipe makes quite a bit of toffee, so I decided to wrap it up in cute baggies and give them out for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was the first time I've attempted toffee. I admit I did not use a candy thermometer, but just cooked until a dark amber color. Otherwise,I followed the recipe as written. We loved it. It was a tiny bit bitter, but next time I'll cook it for a shorter time and use a heavier pan as others have suggested. This is the perfect toffee texture. Yum.....my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this as written and the butter pooled on the top... still tasted great though. Made the next batch but stirred it the entire time and the butter did not pool at all. Yes! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 820) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States