Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holly Estrada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wow! My first attempt...and this one is a keeper! After reading tips in the other reviews, I agree that 1) invest in a decent candy thermometer 2) cook the mixture to the hard ball stage at 300-310 degrees 3) if cooking on an induction range like me, make sure your candy thermometer isn't affected by the magnetism in the cooking element. Luckily mine worked perfectly 4) stir regularly but not constantly once the mixture boils 5) buy sliced almonds and pulse them through a chopper or mini food processor for perfectly sized almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Estrada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doreen
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My first attempt at toffee and it came out perfect and delicious. Followed directions but let it cook to 300* like mentioned. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sone
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe ten times now and I love it! I've even started having fun with it like adding crumpled candy canes on top for the holiday season. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Followed happywifey's suggestions and stirred only occasionally. Turned out beautiful and delicious. Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was my first time making toffee and it was easy, and came out delicious! The only change I made was putting some chopped pecans in the bottom layer, the toffee part. I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top and they melted from the heat of the toffee. Topped with chopped almonds. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe and read the reviews hoping to have this toffee recipe turn out well. I cooked it on a medium/low heat because on my stove a medium high heat, as the recipe says to use, is too hot and the butter separates, a lot. I followed the recipe exactly except turning the heat down and I am very frustrated with how badly the butter separated. Im waiting right now for the toffee to cool but I am not happy with the butter separating so much. Help what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe for 2 years now and it is wonderful. I sprinkle sea salt on top of the toffee before the chocolate is spread and it gives it a great taste. I made this again today without a candy thermometer (we recently moved and i haven't unpacked it yet) and as long as you have patience and watch for the dark color then you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Awesome, really easy to make and taste so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
used almonds. This was beautiful. And delicious! Takes a long time for it to start boiling. Used two cookie sheets with parchment paper and tried to spread it out as thin as possible. Used the plastic idea for smearing out the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lisa Marie Moulton
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Excellent. Used pecans and cooked to 300. Perfect texture. Parchment paper is your friend. Made two batches for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Moulton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States