Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe and read the reviews hoping to have this toffee recipe turn out well. I cooked it on a medium/low heat because on my stove a medium high heat, as the recipe says to use, is too hot and the butter separates, a lot. I followed the recipe exactly except turning the heat down and I am very frustrated with how badly the butter separated. Im waiting right now for the toffee to cool but I am not happy with the butter separating so much. Help what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe for 2 years now and it is wonderful. I sprinkle sea salt on top of the toffee before the chocolate is spread and it gives it a great taste. I made this again today without a candy thermometer (we recently moved and i haven't unpacked it yet) and as long as you have patience and watch for the dark color then you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Awesome, really easy to make and taste so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
used almonds. This was beautiful. And delicious! Takes a long time for it to start boiling. Used two cookie sheets with parchment paper and tried to spread it out as thin as possible. Used the plastic idea for smearing out the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lisa Marie Moulton
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Excellent. Used pecans and cooked to 300. Perfect texture. Parchment paper is your friend. Made two batches for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Moulton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love chocolate toffee like this and I did my best to follow the recipe along with keeping the many reviews in mind. I used a heavy bottomed enameled cast iron pot, and cooked on very low and slow heat at first. My butter and sugar separated after about fifteen minutes, so I turned off the heat and added a bit of water like other reviewers suggested and that salvaged the situation. However, in the end my toffee was good but tasted a bit burned, and grainy. Like I said, I did my best following and I know I am inexperienced at this, so a lot of it is likely my fault, but in my opinion if a recipe doesn't make it so that someone who has never made it can do a pretty good job, it is partly the recipe to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSchindel
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love this. Easy and delicious. WATCH THE TEMPERATURE. The toffee cooks fast from 250 degrees to 285 so you've got to keep your eyes glued to it or it'll have a burnt, overcooked taste. I chop my almonds well, unlike the picture which enables the almonds to stick to the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Loved it. So simple and looks like u did a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I am 11 and i made this perfect the first time i cooked it to 300f and used pecans insted of almonds and didnt use chocolate!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Burned the first batch. Second was perfect! Never buying toffee again. My family loved it. I'm planning on gifting it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States