Best Stovetop BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
EXCELLENT! I par boiled the ribs for 30 minutes (I was trying to make this as healthy as possible), drained them and proceeded with the recipe. I did double the sauce and was glad I did because it's delicious! I topped the ribs with the onion rings, brought it to a boil and put it on to simmer for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. Let me just say that these were the most moist and tender country ribs I have ever had! They were so tender, I had a hard time getting them out of the pot and onto our plates, lol. The sauce that was left was just the perfect consistancy for spooning over the top (not too thin and not too thick). This will be my new go to recipe for country ribs...they were simple and delicious! Thank You, Sandra, for such a wonderful recipe, you made my family really happy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Should be renamed BEST STOVETOP RIBS. The ribs did not taste much like BBQ. Smothering the left overs in a different BBQ sauce before reheating made a better second taste try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Both my husband and I were skeptical about cooking ribs on the stovetop, but these were fantastic! As per the recommendations of other reviewers, I double the sauce. Changed nothing else and this was delicious. I would NOT serve store bought BBQ sauce w/ this, as the flavor of the sauce in the recipe is outstanding. If anything, I would perhaps marinate the ribs in the sauce first, or just cook longer to allow the ribs to absorb more flavor, for those who thought the flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
The only thing I suggest is double the sauce and cook at least 1 1/2 - 2 hours long. Delicious, easy, and perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
There is not enough liquid in a pan big enough to hold 4 ribs, that and 45 minutes on medium dosn't create a simmer it burns. The meat was moist but I couldn't taste the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This might sound silly, but do you leave the heat on Medium when you simmer for 45 min (or more as I see many of the reviewers have) or do you lower the heat? This sounds delicious, though I haven't actually made it yet. I am a huge fan of bb ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. Followed recipe exactly, except simmered 2 hrs. Fell off bone and were sumptous. I can't believe these were made on stove top. Easy clean up too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was AMAZING! I quadrupled the marinade as well as adding a 1/4c molasses. I didn't have A1 either, so I used 1/2 c bbq sauce and 1/4 vineagar instead. I marinated this for 18 hours in a ziploc bag, and then cooked them on the stovetop ofr approx 2 hours. They literally fell of the bone! My hubby insisted they were better than any restaurant ribs he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Zaldivar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great recipe. Easy and delicious. Like many others we needed to let simmer much longer than in the original recipe but forewarned, everything worked out great. The flavor was a little more subtle than than some of our family prefers for ribs so I served bbq sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious!! I doubled the sauce and used both boneless and bone-in ribs. I've made these three times since July because my husband keeps requesting them. They're really easy to make and the ribs are very inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States