Best Steak Marinade in Existence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Pretty tasty stuff. I didn't blend this and really can't see why you'd have to. Just throw it into a ziploc bag and mix is up. I cut the marinade in half because I had just two steaks. I used a bunch of minced garlic instead of garlic powder and also skipped on the hot sauce. I ended up letting it sit in the fridge with the steaks (top sirloin) for about 3 hours. When it was time to make dinner, I took the steaks out of the bag and then threw in 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms until they were well coated and dropped all of that into a pan. I cooked the mushrooms until most of the liquid was cooked out on medium high heat. Grilled the steaks to medium rare, then served the mushrooms on top! Turned out very flavorful and very delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1710 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This marinade was amazing. I really wasn't sure about the ingredients (didn't want teriyaki type), and decided to take a chance based upon the ratings. Boy, was I glad I did. The steaks ended up marinating 3 days (due to changes in plans). They were so tender, and the taste... fabulous. This marinade is very subtle, it really enhances the meat well. I didn't have parsley, so I added a dash of thyme. My DH was extremely happy with the taste, and wants me to use this recipe again and again. ***UPDATE***-I wanted something different for Christmas dinner for 15 people, this was my choice, and everyone raved about how flavorful and tender the steaks were (we used flat iron steaks). I brought the steaks home from the store, fixed the marinade, popped them in the freezer for about a week, then defrosted them Christmas Eve. My DH put them on the BBQ to cook, YUMMM! On a busy day, it was an effortless, but outstanding main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The best marinade that I have ever used. I was very skeptical, aspecially after I blended it. It did not look like it would taste good but it was really really good. I used top sirloin. Highly reccommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1000 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very good marinade. I only had garlic salt, and it was a mistake to use it. The garlic salt made the marinade too salty, definitely make sure you use garlic powder as the resipe calls for! Otherwise the flavor was pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I don't know if this is "THE BEST" steak marinade, but it comes in close. I used this on two pretty large NY stips and it came out great! I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 c. and used all minced garlic, no powders. I used 2 Tbsp. of dried basil and 1 Tbsp. of oregano. I didn't have white pepper, so I used 1/2 tsp. of black pepper. I put everything into a ziplock bag and let it marinate all day. Perfect with a baked potato and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is Awesome. My husband LOVED it. I didn't have any Lemon Juice so I used Lime and it came out Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Steak purist as he is, hubs preferred his steak without this marinade and didn't use it. In hindsight I wish I would have followed suit. Thank goodness l at least used fresh garlic, but I think both the lemon juice and hefty amount of garlic powder contributed a strong, "off flavor," as one reviewer put it, that I just didn't care for - not so sure I liked the basil either. It was fun to experiment, but it would have been so much easier and so much better to have just stuck with the simple steak seasonings we're accustomed to. When something is really good, like a good quality steak, it simply doesn't need anything to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent Marinade. I actually didn't add the last 4 ingredients. I didn't have parsley flakes & just forgot the pepper. I marinated 4 large Ribeyes for about 4-5 hours and the steaks were delicious, best I've ever cooked. My husband took one of the steaks to work 2 days later and microwaved it for lunch. He was concerned that it might be dry or tough and said it tasted even better. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This marinade was really flavorful. I marinated the steaks overnight and the meat was juicy & tender. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Used fresh garlic instead of powder. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States