Best Spinach Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is ok but not as good as another version I have had for years. Use Knorr vegetable soup mix, 1 cup each of mayo and sour cream, a can of water chestnuts, a box of spinach, 2 tbsp of lemon juice and a bunch of green onion. This version is much more flavorful, my opinion. 2 cups of sour cream in this recipe is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Followed the directions completely and this was ON POINT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I was given this recipe as a newlywed in 1980. Ever since I am asked to make it over and over again. It is so simple and the taste is great. I was told to use it with small triangles of pumpernickel bread. Over the years we have used Fritos, Hawaiian bread, Italian bread, and any available kind of bread that is fresh from the bakery. My family has taken the Hawaiian bread dinner rolls and put dip in the middle and eaten it that way. It is best if made a day ahead and let it chill in the refrigerator 12 to 24 hours. I have to hide it when chilling or it will get eaten ahead of time! The Knorr's leek soup mix is what makes it so much better than other recipes. It is getting harder to find it the soup mix, so when I see it I stock up. In a pinch the Veggie soup mix can be used, but is not as good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this spinach dip today and it exceeded my expectations! My frequent complaint about the dip in the deli in they do not put enough spinach in it. I followed an earlier suggestion and put in the whole container of spinach. It is terrific! I worried I wouldn't find the leek soup, but it was right by the other dried soups. I will never try another version after this. Can't wait to serve at a birthday party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome and easy - first try at spinach dip and this is the only recipe I'll use in the future. I left out the water chestnuts, added artichoke hearts and green onions. Could not find the leek soup mix so went with the veggie mix, and added a little seasoned salt. I also used 1 1/2 pkg of spinach - one pkg just looked like so little. Made for a party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I have been making spinach dip for 35 yrs. I use knorrs vegetable soup mix. Sometimes I add a little cream cheese. and a little garlic. But I always add a small onion, chopped fine. I have also used fresh cooked spinach, instead of frozen. I have not tried the above recipe, but can not imagine it without the onion. I made up the rating, haven not tried this recipe. Anything is better than store brought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I used yogurt instead of sour cream (Much more calorie friendly) and 1/2 fat mayo. It turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
delicious! altering just slightly this was a fantastic veggie dip for my new year's eve party!! every single guest enjoyed this dip so much that they cleaned the bowl out with their fingers. I omitted the chestnuts mainly because of my personal dislike for them. I added an entire bag(16oz) of frozen spinach and prepared the day before my party. Instead of presenting in a bread bowl I put it in a bowl, surrounded wih veggies and pretzel sticks. I am asked to bring this to every function I am invited to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Nothing special, in fact, the store made stuff is cheaper and better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Ugh, sorry I tried this recipe before looking for others out there - the consistency is awful, way off from others I've had made by others before. In comparison to a recipe I (too late) requested from a friend, the sour cream should be cut in half, use the whole box of spinach. Not that the flavor from the leek soup is bad, but I've had this made with ranch dressing and it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States