Best Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Wow, this recipe is so similiar to a recipe that my family has been using for several generations. We use homemade salsa, but store bought salsa works well too. The only thing missing is a tsp of mexican oregano added to the rice while it's browning. That little step adds so much flavor to the rice. What i like about this recipe is the ratio of salsa and chicken broth to rice is perfect. The rice isn't mushy or undercooked. In the past I've had to press the liquid from the salsa and add that to the broth, then add the pressed salsa to the rice and saute for a min or two before adding the liquid. I agree that the rice should be browned, it gives the rice a more robust flavor. I also like to add diced green chiles to mine for a little more kick. All in all this is a very good recipe and i think i will follow your ratio instead of eyeing it like i've been doing (sorry abuela)thanks for a quick and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I love this recipe. It's fast easy & delicious. I make it as side all the time. I also add cut up chicken breast, 2 cups of vegetables & a can of black olives. Tastes just like my moms chicken & rice she made when we were kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
super easy and yummy to make. surprised that I didn't need to use achote. to add extra flavor, i like to saute onions AND bacon before adding the rice. you can't go wrong with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
this was spot on. I used bacon fat and added bell pepper and salt and black pepper. Awesome addition, next time may add some jalapeño for fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The recipe as-is is only worth about two stars but the idea was a great starter and quick. I used an entire chopped onion which I browned, then added 1 tsp minced garlic and cooked it for 30 seconds before adding the rice. I did brown the rice before adding the liquid but I won't do that next time as I didn't appreciate the bite. I used the Safeway Deli salsa which is excellent, added 1 small can of diced green chiles, 1 tsp ground cumin, salt, pepper and also used 3 cans of low- sodium chicken broth (14.05 oz) as even for basic rice the recipe is 1:2 (rice to water.) This is a far better alternative than boxed Spanish rice and nearly as fast, so thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meginid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It REALLY doesn't get much easier than this, folks! I have a hard time cooking rice and it came out just fine. I'd love to try this with brown rice to see if it comes out just as good. It came out slightly under done (crispy) so I will turn it down a little next time. Perfect side to enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Before finding this recipe I experimented for years trying to recreate that Mexican restaurant-style rice. This one comes closer than anything else I have tried, and I have since made it no less than a dozen times. I typically use brown rice, and add a handful of frozen, diced carrots and peas when I add the broth for color. Though I had never bought Pace picante sauce for my own consumption before, I tried it based on the other reviews and really liked it. Now I buy the big jugs of it at the warehouse store just for this dish. I always make a double batch and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used vegetable broth instead of chicken. Result was very yummy! Even my 8 year old liked it which I consider a big win. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livinhapaz
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delicious, but i couldn't resist, and add roasted corn... even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinhapaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States