Best Spaghetti Sauce in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
i have been cooking italian dishes for 28 years and this is without a doubt the best fresh tomato sauce recipe i've ever made. the name should be changed to fresh tomato sauce. my entire family loved it. send us more recipes, michelle and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
simple and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
quick, easy, and so good. My kids love the "homemade" sauce I work soo hard to make, not knowing that the Best Spaghetti Sauce in the world only takes 10-20 mins for prep/simmers for 40. Kudos to Mickey for making me a kitchen star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
love the dry vermouth in it! wish it had green bell pepper but the roma tomatoes combined with the vermouth? great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I will never buy buy spaghetti sauce again. This was SO good and easy and fast. I did substitute white wine as there was no vermouth in the house and added a small amount of tomato paste to thicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
This sauce was a big hit at a dinner party that we threw. We served it over linguine as a complement to the main course, Chicken Marsala. Everyone kept coming back for more! Very flavorful and fresh. note: We substituted olive oil for 1/2 the butter that was called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Very simple, fast (it helps to have a food chopper/processor for the tomatos) and really tasty. Now I have a use for that bottle of vermouth that's been around for awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
It's just to easy to be this good! If you think pasta sauce has to simmer for hours forget it. I served this at a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. Sometimes I add a tea. of mixed Italian seasonings if no fresh are availible. The Vermouth is the kicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i consider this a gourmet sauce -- would have never thought to add vermouth, and my tasting while cooking, before adding the vermouth, then after adding vermouth, was a huge and pleasant surprise ... i sliced the romas lengthwise, 4 slices to the tomato, as i like chunky ... next time i will sauté onions with the garlic, probably a lot, as i like onions in my sauce ... using FRESH basil as the only spice was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
easy and light sauce. great with all types of pasta. love it and its low cal. works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States