Best Rolls Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Our go to recipe for Thanksgiving. Have been using this recipe for about 4 years now. Really like the overnight rise and no "punch down/ rise" step. It makes this perfect for preparing the night before and baking fresh on Thanksgiving morning. Read through the other reviews, and I have had some years where I got little to no rise. I baked them anyway and they were still good. While they may be a bit "biscuit like" they are far from a biscuit to me. Will continue to use at our Thanksgiving get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. Because the recipe asked for 1 1/2 packets of yeast, I didn't know how to easily divide a packet of yeast in half so I used two full packets. I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added melted margerine, the egg, the remaining water and the dry ingredients. I did not use self-rising flour, just regular AP flour. This dough needed more flour than the recipe stated to get the dough into a ball and able to jump on a hook, over a cup. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes, then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, then brushed the tops of the hot rolls with vegetable oil right out of the oven. These rolls were GINORMOUS. They looked pretty and turned out fluffy and the perfect roll consistancy but they were quite sweet. Not so much a dinner roll for us, but I think this would make a good base for a sweet roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
To anyone who plans to try this recipe, I'll warn you: This dough is -extremely- wet from the start. Honestly, it looks and feels more like a thick pancake batter than a bread dough. The dough rose somewhat.. not nearly as much as I expected, even though I left it overnight. The end result.. while the rolls -were- extremely soft, they also turned out somewhat more dense and spongy than what you'd get in a restaurant. But I say that's more the fault of my inexperience than the recipe. All in all, the rolls were very good. I couldn't help but "test" three of them directly out of the oven. Also, be warned: This recipe makes two dozen rolls. Halve the recipe, if you don't want that many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I made these rolls as a last minute idea, didn't have time to let them rise or let them sit in fridge, the dough was alittle too sticky but turned out great! Very soft, moist rolls that served the purpose. I subtituted the self-rising flour for All-purpose+ baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I am new to bread and bun making so I thought this would be a great, easy way to look good at bread making but I have made these buns 5 times now and only once turned out fine. Since I am new I think I am not kneading to much (almost nada) but I find the mixture very sticky and use alot of flour shaping into buns. twice the buns did not rise at all. The first time I will chalk up to the yeast but the next time the yeast proofed well. Not sure what I am doing wrong but I am off to find a different bun recipe that perhaps I can't screw up too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone loved the rolls at thanksgiving dinner but I was very worried when they didnt rise at all. Once I put them in the oven they rose and ended up tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Very good.made a homemade corn ham & bacon chowder.these bun were awsome for dipping up the chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Everyone RAVES when I make these. I agree- BEST ROLLS EVER! I hope to try to make them more healthy though... we'll see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Unfortunately, I cannot agree that these are the best rolls ever. I make rolls fairly often and had high hopes with these. The recipe takes too long to make, its expensive and thus a bit disappointing. Now I've had great results with the recipe Sweet Dinner Rolls by Donna West; IMHO that recipe makes some of the BEST rolls ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
If you haven't made a decent batch of rolls YET don't try this one. You waste all that yeast(3 pks), flour( almost a whole bag), butter(2 sticks) and sugar. I Think bread making is some sort of conspiracy. Noone ever really tells you the secret. They don't want you to know. Mix how? How should dough look, appear,feel? Should it pull away from the bowl or be goopy in your hands. How cold or hot should the water be...how long should water and yeast set. Do you knead, and how do you knead, how long do you knead? When do you know youre done kneading. Is this recipe for a bread machine or mixer or make it by hand? Mix well, how? My kitchen is a mess and my rolls didn,t even rise. The Dough Looks like some science project in the fridge! Maybe lost pluto?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States