Best Potatoes Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Thanks for taking the time to add this very traditional Indian recipe! I have prepared and eaten it all my life. You can pretty much change the proportion of all spices and condiments to match your taste. So feel free to cut down on chillies. If you do not have dried mango power, just use fresh lemon juice and it will be just as good. For a different twist, add 1/4 cup thawed frozen coconut - this is very traditional around the Indian coast. Also, use peanut or vegetable oil instead of ghee to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Wow, these ARE good. the first time i made this dish, i boiled the potatoes too long so this turned out more like indian mashed potatoes. very very spicy stuff, but its also very good. the second time, today, they were perfect. im eating a bowl of it rite now and i have a huge jug of water next to me. we really liked this, but its not recomended for young childern. but for teens and adults, this stuff is great! to bring down the heat a bit, i served this with some sour cream at the side. thanx RG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Really tasty, though I couldn't find any amchoor in the couple of stores I checked in. I used one big anaheim pepper, ground ginger and a bit of dried cilantro as substitutes, along with just regular margarine. These were good and spicy, and went really well with the honey and curry chicken that I made along with it. I'd definitely make them again, whether or not I find the amchoor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
this recipe goes well with chapati. while boiling the potato i added a pinch of tumeric pwdr and a pinch of garam masala. i also added methi leaves in the end wd the cilantro. this is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yum. I used ground cumin instead of seeds, lemon juice instead of mango powder, and added coconut (as suggested by another member). I'll definetly make these again ... like, tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I cooked an all Indian dinner for me and my husband last week. We both love the flavours from India, and living in the Netherlands we have several excellent Indian restaurants nearby. Since I lost my job one month ago unexpectedly, I have time now to enjoy my passion for cooking ethnic food. We loved these potatoes! I can handle much spicier food than my husband, so I cut down on the spicier items...I do not think it was necessary...my husband would have liked the potatoes a little less dry...will try perhaps the suggestion of peanut oil next time. OH! I found the mango powder at at specicialty shop only 4 blocks from my house!! Curious to see how it is next time! A real winner recipe! Thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
this is so easy to make and yummy! it would make a great dosa filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Made this recipe last night with the girlfriend. I've never been clear about what a chili pepper is exactly, so we used fresh Serranos. I recommend 1, not 2, for the average eater. Sour cream was nice on them. Served with a Yogurt Drizzled Spicy South Indian Chicken, salad, and Plum Wine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
These potatoes were good but a bit dry. Next time I'll make them spicier and find some way to make them saucier. I added a can of rinsed and drained chickpeas to make a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We definitely enjoyed these and I will be making again. I used more than 4 potatoes and bumped up all ingredients from there. I used a bit of poblano peppers as I was not quite sure which kind to use. I think I will try it again with Anaheim. Did not have amchoor so used fresh lemon juice. Did add a bit of tumeric for color. Skipped the fresh cilantro as we ate from pots on the stove. I'll definitely use this recipe again as it is such a welcome change of taste for potatoes. Family ate it down to the last speck, but was waiting for rave reviews. Everyone thought they were very tasty, but no one was raving about them which is what usually happens. A keeper? Absolutely. If I ever find amchoor, will try them again and revise the stars upward, if warranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States