Best Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I would have given this recipe 4 stars as is, but it was 5 stars once we tweaked it a bit. The ratios were a bit off for our tastes. There is too much peanut butter for the amount of other ingredients, so...either add less PB or more of everything else. We just added more of the other ingredients to taste. Extra vinegar and brown sugar (which we used in place of white sugar) was the perfect touch here, as it helps take the place of hoisin sauce. My husband used to cook in a high-end restaurant and was skeptical about a hoisin-free peanut sauce, but was very surprised with how good this turned out with our modifications. A few sesame seeds and some green onion on top and it was perfect. (We had it with chicken satay.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
So fast and easy to make. A bit bland, but perks up in an instant: Skip the Hot Pepper sauce and add Hot Chili Oil (more authentic taste), a teaspoon of Seasame (or Peanut) oil, and add a bit more garlic. I've made this a few times, and prefer crunchy peanut butter over smooth for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I found this a little bland as written, - but VERY easy. I changed it a little and added 3/4 tsp Tabasco, 1 tsp minced garlic, 2 tsp Sesame Chili Hot Oil, 2 Tbls rice wine vinegar and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, and I found it absolutely outstanding! Killer, in fact. I just put everything in the blender and it became smooth and creamy in an instant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I am a Chinese and do lots of Chinese cooking at home. This recipe reminds me how my mom makes her peanut sauce. The only difference is she also puts a little vinegar. So I followed the recipe plus a teaspoon of vinegar and poured the sauce over stir fried fish. It tasted like my mom's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I am in the Philippines and had some of the locally made peanut butter at home, as well as the dregs of a container of chunky store-bought peanut butter. I used both to come up with my 1/2 cup, and heated up the water to get the rest of the peanut butter out of the container. Since the peanut butter I have is pretty sweet I skipped the sugar. I didn't have hot sauce, so I substituted 1/2-1 tsp. of cayanne pepper instead. I am a fan of garlic, so I used two cloves and added 1 tsp. powdered ginger and 1 1/2 Tbls. lemon juice. It was all very easy to put together and the previous reviews made it simple to personalize. The only thing that would have made it any better is if the seal hadn't given out on the food processor attachment to my blender! My hard-to-please Filipino hosts loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Dauin, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Good stuff! Goes great with pork satay. I used coconut milk instead of water. I also added a little apple cider vinegar, a sprinkle of curry powder and the juice of half a lime. This makes the taste a little more complex than just PB and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Um, I don't have kids, but my girlfriend likes it! :) Remember to mince up that garlic really well if you like a smooth sauce. I used natural peanut butter. No hydrodgenated oil, yummy! (Hydrodgenated oil is not natural and it is very bad for you!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This is a great recipe. I also added minced ginger and substituted 3 Tbs Chili Pepper Sauce for the Hot Sauce (Chili Pepper Sauce is full of flavor, but not fiery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Thanks Joan for this great recipe. I made this to go with some rice noodles. I bought a box of pad thai from Costco and the little sauce packet that comes with it tastes horrible!! I was desperately searching for something to replace it with and came across this recipe. I did have to add a little more water to get the consistency I wanted and skipped on the hot sauce in case my daughter wanted some. Next time I may crush some peanuts to sprinkle on top. Really, really good. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
It appears that many others have beat me to rating this recipe, but nevertheless, I have to agree with most, it's the easiest and, simply put, it's just plain good! I was struggling to find a quick Thai peanut sauce, and Joan came right to the rescue. Many thanks Joan!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States