Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum! We loved this! Perfect Christmas morning breakfast... easy to throw in the oven and no work for Mom so I could be part of the festivities! Very sweet so no syrup required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yes. Ive used this recipe and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe!! I put sliced apples between the bread layers and used Splenda brown sugar instead of regular brown sugar. Also used an extra egg and a bit more milk like other people had. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was my first try at a baked French toast, and it was YUMMY! As with most recipes, I scaled it down for my small family. I halved the recipe, added an extra egg and a little extra splash of milk, used whole grain bread (crusts on, cut into large cubes), and tossed the bread in the egg-milk mixture, rather than pouring it over. It filled an 8X8 pan perfectly. I baked it at the same temperature for the same amount of time. but because the bread was brown to start with, I judged the "doneness" by smell and touch, taking it out when it sprang back when I poked it. I especially like how it doesn't taste really "eggy", as my French toast often does. We wound up eating smaller servings than if I had prepared "regular" French toast, the equivalent of only one slice of bread per serving. With a few brown and serve sausages on the side, perfect! We'll have the last of it for brunch after church this morning. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Oh my goodness! This is like eating dessert for breakfast! My family LOVED it! Actually, I made it for dinner, with some bacon and scrambled eggs. :) It tasted a lot like eating a cinnamon roll. VERY SWEET and yummy. I used 7 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk (since some others had said it was a little dry) and it was just right. I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the milk/egg mixture and sprinkled the top with cinnamon before pouring it over. I refrigerated it for a couple hours before baking and that worked fine! It was really too sweet to add butter and syrup, but I would like to try it with a fruit topping and some whipped cream. Next time I might try spreading the 2nd layer of bread with sweetened cream cheese and blueberry pie filling or chopped apples (between the bread layers) for a 'stuffed' french toast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Amazing! I love the night prep and quick bake. My daughter loves smelling this cooking for brunch. Her friends love it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
As my 4 yr old granddaughter Graci would say "Yummy-this is delish".The first time I made this was for a Sunday brunch-which my family was late for & had it cold late that afternoon. They ate it like finger food & absolutely loved it. The only thing I did differently was add 1/4 cup sugar & 1 TSP vanilla to the egg mixture. My baking time was a little longer but maybe that was from not all ovens being alike. We took vacation a few days back & my family asked me to make it for breakfast - put it together the night before - put it in the oven next morning & wound up making it twice during our stay at the beach. Yes, they really liked it. This is going to be on my menu for holiday breakfast for years to come. Thanks GINNY066 for a wonderful recipe. DianneP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisGirl09
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I prepped it last night and made it this afternoon for my family, it was a huge success! I did it slightly different to make sure the cinnamon and brown sugar was on both sides of all the toast but it was definitely delicious! I absolutely love this sight for homemade recipes! Thanks from my family that will enjoy this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Oh, my goodness. This is one of the most delicious baked french toast recipes I've ever had. I first made it for Christmas last year, and used ordinary, cheap sandwich bread with the crusts on and it was OK. But now I buy the good quality farmhouse bread and cut the crusts off. I add more brown sugar to the bottom of the dish, too so when I cut it and flip it over on the plate, it's buttery and sweet. Served with grits and breakfast meat this is one of our favorite meals. Oh, and I don't refrigerate over night either and it's still great. I will for this year's Christmas morning meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I made this for a co-workers birthday and shared with several people. They all liked it. I followed the advice from others and added extra milk and eggs. I also sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on the top. Next time i want to add cream cheese between the layers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States