Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious! I had 14 slices of bread so I used a bigger pan. I used the same amount of butter, cinnamon and sugar though, and it was sweet enough. Put in an extra egg and used a whole cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla. Sprinkled the top with cinnamon. Baked within 1 hour of putting it together, it was fine without waiting overnight. When serving, flip it over onto your plate. It tastes like cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good. Cook sausage or bacon in oven at the same time for easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Loved it! I used thinly sliced French bread, cream instead of milk, and put it directly into the oven for 30 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was looking for a quick and easy french toast recipe to make this morning and came across this one. Thanks to a previous reviewer's comment, I did not let it sit overnight and just baked it as soon as I finished preparing it! I used french bread instead of regular bread and served it with a little warmed maple syrup! It turned out GREAT and we all enjoyed it very much! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
A great make ahead dish! Added some corn syrup to the sugar mixture and topped the mixture with sliced apples and pears. Big hit with the family, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very tasty, I think I will try the applesauce on the bottom next time! I think I would reduce the amount of brown sugar however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum! We loved this! Perfect Christmas morning breakfast... easy to throw in the oven and no work for Mom so I could be part of the festivities! Very sweet so no syrup required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yes. Ive used this recipe and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe!! I put sliced apples between the bread layers and used Splenda brown sugar instead of regular brown sugar. Also used an extra egg and a bit more milk like other people had. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was my first try at a baked French toast, and it was YUMMY! As with most recipes, I scaled it down for my small family. I halved the recipe, added an extra egg and a little extra splash of milk, used whole grain bread (crusts on, cut into large cubes), and tossed the bread in the egg-milk mixture, rather than pouring it over. It filled an 8X8 pan perfectly. I baked it at the same temperature for the same amount of time. but because the bread was brown to start with, I judged the "doneness" by smell and touch, taking it out when it sprang back when I poked it. I especially like how it doesn't taste really "eggy", as my French toast often does. We wound up eating smaller servings than if I had prepared "regular" French toast, the equivalent of only one slice of bread per serving. With a few brown and serve sausages on the side, perfect! We'll have the last of it for brunch after church this morning. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States