Best Oven Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I'm rating this based on the sauce and potential alone because I think I botched my chicken through no fault of the recipe. I had a 7.5 lb bird, and am a bit of a novice with whole chicken roasting. An hour in, and the chicken was still raw as can be. So I did the 20 min/lb rule and followed the instructions. When it came time to flip, the chicken literally fell apart, so the flip was impossible which left me with very soggy chicken skin. Parts were really moist, and other parts were really dry. My bad...The sauce however was dynamite! I followed the instructions exactly and my boyfriend and I loved it. I'll definitely try this again, maybe with a smaller bird or with chicken parts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Loved this recipe! Very flavorful and super moist! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is super good! Even my husband raved about it, and he actually cooks allot more than I do. The only thing I changed was I used a can of beer instead of water. The near was juicy& flavorful, and the outside got nice& crispy...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My husband and I loved it! I searched "whole oven baked chicken" and just used the first recipe I saw, and I'm glad I did. I used all of the ingredients as directed, but added about 2 TBSP of honey. I did not use our dutch oven though, I lined a glass pan with foil and covered it with foil. I baked it at 375 for 2 hours. then uncovered on Broil for 5 minutes and it was soooo soooo juicy, my husband pulled the bone right out of it! It was so easy to whip up all the ingredients too. Try this! The flavor was great and not overpowering at all. OH I JUST remembered, I did add one bouillon cube, instead of poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I baked it at 350, 20min per pound plus an extra 15. Added ginger curry and garlic. Turned out excellent!! Also brined the chicken and put slices of butter in between the skin and chicken. Added pieces of bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
If you cook this recipe much longer than 1 hour and 15 minutes, your chicken will be dry....and please see that there has been an edit to the recipe. You are supposed to turn the chicken breast side up for the last 15 minutes. I do not know whether or not elevation makes the difference in the cooking times, but I am sure it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This turned out ok, but wasn't as flavorful as I would have hoped. My almost 6 lb hen took about 45 minutes longer to cook than specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a nice, easy chicken recipe. Our cluck was on the heavier side and it took an additional 35 minutes of cooking time. I'll be interested to try cut up chicken next time. thanks for sharing maryjmohler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States