Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I LOVE THIS CAKE! VERY light and fluffy. Moist and yummy. Bakes very evenly! Waaaay better than store bought cakes or cake mixes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cazza
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
All in all, it was a very good cake. This was the first time I used this recipe, so I was unaware how it'd turn out. My grandmother's birthday was coming up and I wanted to make her a good, homeade cake -- she has beginning of severe stage Alzheimer's so I wanted this to be a good birthday and good cake. I saw this recipe and tried it. I really made no changes other than adding a little more cocoa. I made it a layered cake and made chocolate frosting and chocolate drizzle (I just made a normal chocolate frosting but made it a little thinner and added melted chocolate). After that, I just put Hershey's chips on it. The cake wasn't as moist as I hoped, though. I followed the recipe very carefully, but it seemed about as moist as an average cake, not extra moist like I hoped. It may have been my fault, though. It did stay in one 1 extra minute because the phone rang. Either way, my grandmother loved it and everyone else did, too. So thank you for sharing this. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Just finished baking and eating this cake. First Choc cake I've baked and it was quite easy to make! The only difference I did was to scale it down for share of 3 (I was trying to satisfy my Choc cake craving so needed something small) and added in some semi-sweet Choc chips. The result was moist and even had nuggets of chocolate goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreakoh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great recipe. I made some changes though. I added 1/4 c Milk to the recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and I also melted 4 tbsp of the butter and added about 3-4 extra TBSP of cocoa powder to the melted butter before adding it to the remaining butter before creaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very nice! The cake is a little crumbly (in the good way) and a lighter chocolate flavor that goves it a devils food feel. I will be making this again :) I subed in 1/2 t of the baking soda for powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekqt
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved this cake!! I used it to make cake squares and it was so moist and chocolatey! I did use only 1 cup of milk and the rest coffee. I am definitely going to make this again! I used a chocolate cream cheese icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I tried this last night for my husband's birthday, went with the positive feedback. Will not use this one again, no chocolate flavor and everyone agreed 100%. Cake is moist and holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
As advertised, the cake was very moist and the perfect texture. I cut the recipe in half due to a lack of flour on hand and it still made a ton of batter, enough to fill a 9"x13" pan. Not much chocolate flavor, which could be due to my cocoa powder being a little old. I added four dark chocolate ghirardelli squares, melted, to the batter. Despite having little flavor, I have had four slices already in the past two days so I guess it turned out. I reccommend looking up the recipe for "Texas Chocolate Frosting" and adding a little cinnamon to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had no margarine so I used butter. It was a wonderful and easy to make recipe that made 24 perfect, deep, dark, chocolate cupcakes. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I followed the advice of using baking powder instead of the baking soda, 8 tbsp of cocoa powder and used 1/4 more milk. I also used 1/2c butter AND 1/2 c oil since thats what I had on hand. First off the texture of this batter is so silky, its just divine. I baked half into cupcakes and the other half into a silicone cake pan. The final product of the cupcakes and the cake is GREAT! Moist, just the right amount of sweetness and texture was just right. I noticed some people said that it was bland but I wonder if they realize that the cake isnt supposed to be sugar loaded- thats the job of the icing. Anyway, I really enjoyed the basis of this recipe and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States