Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Not being a chocolate fan (I'm nuts, I know), I didn't have a stand-by recipe on hand. I wanted an easy recipe that I could bake with ingredients on-hand. I usually test a new recipe on my family before I make it for company, but I didn't with this one. It was a hit! How lucky I feel to have found a great chocolate cake recipe on the first try! The recipe makes a lot of batter, so I made a 9-inch 2-layer cake, and it was done after 30 minutes in the oven. I frosted it using the buttercream recipe on the Domino's confectioners sugar box,and added enough unsweetened powdered cocoa to make a light chocolate frosting. Because of the size of the cake, I needed an extra 1/2 box of powdered sugar to make the frosting. I prettied up the top by sprinkling it with iced oatmeal cookie crumbs. This will be my go-to cake recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnySummer1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syeda Sanjana Shahrin
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe was simply delicious, everyone loved it! I made a few changes to it - i added 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. And instead of milk I used evaporated Milk. The cake turned out very soft and moist! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syeda Sanjana Shahrin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Not the greatest... I should of read the comments before. Cake was crummy and too bland! I will try again with the changes made by Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very Good and moist, followed exactly wouldn't change a thing. Thank You Mariasue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This recipe was pretty good, I'm not a chocolate cake lover but bake them for the boyfriend all the time =) Good thing about this recipe is it make a nice big fluffy chocolate cake. Not a very chocolaty chocolate cake though, a small bit bland in comparisons to other cakes I have baked. I added an extra spoon of coco powder, and definitely needs a chocolate fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Not a lot of chocolate flavor and came out dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Not moist-should be baked at 325 especially if using nonstick pans. I even took 10 mins off cooking time and it still was not moist. My dad is a professional baker, but wanted to try this recipe. It was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe. Made a few changes though. Added a packet of chocolate pudding mix and a bag of semi sweet choc. chips. also, used baking powder rather than baking soda and upped the milk to 1 3/4c. It was very moist in the middle and a little dryer at the edges. My husband would have enjoyed a little less cocoa powder, but I thought it was perfect. Used with Chocolate Frosting II from this site and got a great compliment on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe! I was very nervous about making a chocolate cake since you can make one that doesn't have that really chocolate-y flavor. I did make a few changes: I added butterscotch chips, an extra 1/4 cup milk, an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, baking powder instead of baking soda, and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Perfection when topped with a coffee/chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Dreisbach
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA
Photo by dvargas76
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I did not have a lot of faith after having a disaster after the Decadent Chocolate cake recipe on here. My fears seemed to be confirmed when I found the mix to be thin/runny to say the least, but all in all I was pleasantly surprised upon completion of baking. Even with just the baking soda, it rose well. Very chocolatey. Smells superb. I think we have found a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvargas76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States