Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Best cake ever! Made it multiple times and it turns out amazing every time. It's my go to recipe for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried it and it came out pretty well. Though I substituted milk with butter milk. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. Like the other reviewers I made a couple of tweaks that enhanced the original recipe. I do agree with the substitution of baking powder. In addition, when making a substitution using baking powder, the type of cocoa powder needs to change as well as the amount of baking powder used. I doubled the amount of baking powder to 3 teaspoons. I used Dutch process cocoa that gave the cake a richer look and added the chocolaty taste that others said was lacking. The use of Dutch process is usually the rule of thumb when using baking powder. Be careful because unless the original recipe calls for Dutch process you shouldn't just substitute it because many times you have to make other adjustments. But, since I am doing a makeover to the original recipe by making a change with the leavening agent I decided to make this change as well. In addition, instead of using extra milk I added 2/3 of a cup of mayonnaise for moistness. Wow! What a difference. The cake was awesome! A moist, rich chocolate cake that garnered compliments from many of my willing guinea pigs who tried it. I also added a whipped chocolate frosting. This cake is a chocolate lovers dream for sure. I hope this helps others to achieve great results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This cake recipe is simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this cake for a cake decorating class that I am in and my husband tried it and said ti was yummy and excellent. I also thought it was very excellent and moist. I did make one change in the recipe, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a heavy cake, but it's chocolate-y. Although, I supposed if you like super sweet, heavy chocolate-y-ness, it won't work well for you. I did add about a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips to the batter and used more like 7 tbs of cocoa powder as a concession to the negative reviews, but I think it would've been fine without them as well. It is rather heavy and dense. I made cupcakes and in my normal metal cupcake pans, 20 mins at 350 was perfect. For my ceramic pan, it took closer to 30 minutes. As others have said, this is similar to a German Chocolate Cake recipe. I frosted with the Peanut Butter and Banana Frosting from this site, minus the bananas. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This recipe was AMAZING!!! when it said UNSWEETENED cocoa powder i was a bit worried about it not being sweet enough so i just added 1/4 cup more sugar. After i baked it, it tasted like out-of-the-box... BUT BETTER! Overall it was moist, chocolately and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I loved this very light, not too sweet chocolate cake! It's a piece of cake to make also. I sometimes use my bundt cake form instead of the 9x13 pan. Please thank your mom for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome recipe, everyone loved it. I brought it work and all if my coworkers absolutely loved it. It lasted only two days from the time it came out the oven till completely gone. ill definitely be making this again. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States