Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I am rating this recipe 5 stars after I have made a change or two. I bake this for weddings every weekend and have never had a complaint, only rave reviews so I guess this recipe speaks for itself. Substitute the baking soda with baking powder and add an additional quarter cup of milk......Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
768 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I made soe changes after reading reviews and cake came out moist and chocolatey. I used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup boiling water. I used two squares hereshy unsw chocolate and 3tbs cocoa dissolved in in the water. I added 1 tsp baking powder. With adjustments a great chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I'm with Tianne on this one. We did not like this cake at all. It was very bland and not sweet or chocolatey at all. It raised very nicely and had a good texture, but that's about all I could say about it. I poked holes all over it and melted some frosting and poured it over it to add some sweetness. I then put a ton of frosting over that. I really expected a great cake with the ratings. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Great chocolate cake! I made a little change though- instead of using cocoa, I melted 1 1/2 cups chopped milk chocolate and semi sweet chocolate chips, and made an icing of melted chocolate, butter, a squeeze of orange juice, splash vanilla and powdered sugar. I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISTIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I'm only 12 and made it by myself - it was so good. I used white cream icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is absolutely THE BEST cake I have ever made! It was even better than a Betty Crocker mix. I paired it with the Chocolate Frosting submitted by Tianna.....delicious! Even my husband, who doesn't like sweets, LOVED it. This will be THE chocolate cake I make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This recipe was really REALLY bad. I followed the recipe exactly. When it came out of the oven I was really excited because it looked beautiful but when it came to eating it.. it tasted bland, the texture was crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie D.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this chocolate cake for a birthday party and it was a real success. Even one person that does not like chocolate cake ate it saying it was the best cake she had ever eaten. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
not chocolatey at all. The consistency is excellent, but the taste is less than 'one star'. I would not make this recipe again. I used a ton of extra icing in order to give it some sweetness and taste. I'm not sure why the other people gave this recipe such good ratings. At least it was moist and good looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this for 170 people topped with chocolate icing, and it worked great. This truly is moist! Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States