Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Although it turned out moister than I thought is would by the looks of the outside. It didn't taste like chocolate cake to me. So it wasn't great but it wasn't bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
looks like chocolate cake but does not taste like it! I did not like this recipe at all...it was bland, dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
not tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these with butter and did the substitution of baking powder for baking soda and the additional 1/4 c milk. I used chocolate milk as we only had skim regular milk. Really moist and yummy. I cooked them as cupcakes (24 regular size and 12 mini).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used half margarine/half shortening (all I had on hand), soymilk, and baking powder instead of soda...and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This cake was very moist yet did not have a chocolate flavor. I made the adjustments of adding 1/4 cup milk and substituting baking powder instead of baking soda, as suggested by a previous review. If I want a chocolate cake, this would not be my choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Cake was not really chocolatey in taste. It needs frosting that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allforyeshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas and was weary because of the few bad reviews but thought all of the great ones made up for it so I gave it a try. It was literally the worst Cale I have ever made/tasted. Too bland and not chocolatey at all. Not to mention it took about an hour and a half to bake. For your own good DO NOT USE THiS RECIPE. I even listened to some of the modifications and it was still awful. Unfortunately my family didn't get the "great homemade chocolate cake" I had promised this Christmas. Less than one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Sorry, I, too, found it bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The texture of the cake was nice, but it wasn't at all sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States