Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
not tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these with butter and did the substitution of baking powder for baking soda and the additional 1/4 c milk. I used chocolate milk as we only had skim regular milk. Really moist and yummy. I cooked them as cupcakes (24 regular size and 12 mini).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used half margarine/half shortening (all I had on hand), soymilk, and baking powder instead of soda...and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This cake was very moist yet did not have a chocolate flavor. I made the adjustments of adding 1/4 cup milk and substituting baking powder instead of baking soda, as suggested by a previous review. If I want a chocolate cake, this would not be my choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Cake was not really chocolatey in taste. It needs frosting that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allforyeshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas and was weary because of the few bad reviews but thought all of the great ones made up for it so I gave it a try. It was literally the worst Cale I have ever made/tasted. Too bland and not chocolatey at all. Not to mention it took about an hour and a half to bake. For your own good DO NOT USE THiS RECIPE. I even listened to some of the modifications and it was still awful. Unfortunately my family didn't get the "great homemade chocolate cake" I had promised this Christmas. Less than one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Sorry, I, too, found it bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The texture of the cake was nice, but it wasn't at all sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The taste is good, but my cake totally fell apart. I am not an experienced baker and I tried to modify the recipe by adding some real melted chocolate so maybe that was the reason it fell apart. Tasted good though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was very moist and yummy! The only problem was that the recipie said to keep it in the oven for 20 min. but I had to keep it in an extra 15 min. Other then that everyone loved it, I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States