Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very nice! The cake is a little crumbly (in the good way) and a lighter chocolate flavor that goves it a devils food feel. I will be making this again :) I subed in 1/2 t of the baking soda for powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekqt
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved this cake!! I used it to make cake squares and it was so moist and chocolatey! I did use only 1 cup of milk and the rest coffee. I am definitely going to make this again! I used a chocolate cream cheese icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I tried this last night for my husband's birthday, went with the positive feedback. Will not use this one again, no chocolate flavor and everyone agreed 100%. Cake is moist and holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
As advertised, the cake was very moist and the perfect texture. I cut the recipe in half due to a lack of flour on hand and it still made a ton of batter, enough to fill a 9"x13" pan. Not much chocolate flavor, which could be due to my cocoa powder being a little old. I added four dark chocolate ghirardelli squares, melted, to the batter. Despite having little flavor, I have had four slices already in the past two days so I guess it turned out. I reccommend looking up the recipe for "Texas Chocolate Frosting" and adding a little cinnamon to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had no margarine so I used butter. It was a wonderful and easy to make recipe that made 24 perfect, deep, dark, chocolate cupcakes. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I followed the advice of using baking powder instead of the baking soda, 8 tbsp of cocoa powder and used 1/4 more milk. I also used 1/2c butter AND 1/2 c oil since thats what I had on hand. First off the texture of this batter is so silky, its just divine. I baked half into cupcakes and the other half into a silicone cake pan. The final product of the cupcakes and the cake is GREAT! Moist, just the right amount of sweetness and texture was just right. I noticed some people said that it was bland but I wonder if they realize that the cake isnt supposed to be sugar loaded- thats the job of the icing. Anyway, I really enjoyed the basis of this recipe and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have never made a cake from scratch before. I came across this recipe because it didn't need a lot of extra fancy things in it, so I had what I needed and gave it a try. I made this cake for my girls 6th birthday and everyone liked it. I will use it everytime and I will even use it for chocolate cupcakes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Tastes great with Hershey's chocolate powder. I made a 2 layer cake and it turned out great with this recipe, just split the batter into 2 round pans. Work s great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakersdaughter
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I thought the cake was ok. It didn't seem super moist or taste very chocolaty to me. I should have know it waouldn't be very miost, though, because there was no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
amazing cake, just I added 8 tablespoons of cocoa powder, I felt 6 didn't give it the right colour, or flavour I wanted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States