Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas and was weary because of the few bad reviews but thought all of the great ones made up for it so I gave it a try. It was literally the worst Cale I have ever made/tasted. Too bland and not chocolatey at all. Not to mention it took about an hour and a half to bake. For your own good DO NOT USE THiS RECIPE. I even listened to some of the modifications and it was still awful. Unfortunately my family didn't get the "great homemade chocolate cake" I had promised this Christmas. Less than one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Sorry, I, too, found it bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The texture of the cake was nice, but it wasn't at all sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The taste is good, but my cake totally fell apart. I am not an experienced baker and I tried to modify the recipe by adding some real melted chocolate so maybe that was the reason it fell apart. Tasted good though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was very moist and yummy! The only problem was that the recipie said to keep it in the oven for 20 min. but I had to keep it in an extra 15 min. Other then that everyone loved it, I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
What came out from my oven was not a cake, was a tire. Yes, 2 blocks of round tire,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! It's the only one I use and everyone can't get enough of it! I tweak it by adding chocolate chips, coconut, and chopped nuts on top. It comes out beautifully and makes a great thank you gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadiemuffinwadie:D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I debated on making this cake. Usually when there are mixed reviews, it doesn't turn out right for me. But, the pictures looked yummy so I tried it. I followed Karin's suggestions and hoped for the best. Unfortunately, it was not the best moist cake ever. It was not sweet, barely chocolaty, and light tan in color. Not moist and not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalyn Rodriguez
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WONDERFUL! What a moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalyn Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Its not a great cake. It is however a good base to build upon. Add more chocolate, some applesauce and heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molecular Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States