Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I, too, changed the baking soda to baking powder and added 1/4 cup more of milk and the cake turned out better than I thought it was going to. Homemade cakes are usually dry, but this cake wasn't as dry as the last homemade cake I made. It wasn't SUPER chocolatey, but overall my family was happy, they all said good things about it. Not one complaint. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I have made this cake over and over...I have never had a problem with bland flavor! In fact, the opposite..it's actually TOO rich in chocolate flavor for me. It could be that as I live in Germany, and use different chocolate than what is available in the US, is what makes the difference. It's never been dry or crumbly either. It's perfect as it's not too sweet and I don't need a ton of frosting or icing to "sweeten it up". I've made flavor variations such as vanilla, lemon, and the like, and none have disappointed. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuechendrache

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was "okay", but not as special as I had been hoping. I made a double recipe for a First Communion cake. It was dense in texture and had a nice "feel" to it, but the taste was fairly bland even with the extra cocoa recommended by others. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Changed baking soda to powder Added an extra 1/4 cup milk. This cake got raving reviews from my friends and family! It's more dense than a typical box cake and it's extremely smooth on the palate. I tossed some mini chocolate chips in the batter too. Awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paprika
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I substituted baking soda for baking powder and added 1/4 cup more milk as was previously suggested. I also added mini chocolate chips and drizzled the top with milk and white chocolate...looked and tasted delicious :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Seriously good cake here folks! Very moist, very nice texture and perfectly sweet. But I'm rating this 4 stars because it could be more chocolaty, I think I'm going to increase the cocoa powder by 4 more tablespoons the next time, or I'll try adding in some melted chocolate. I've been trying chocolate cake recipes on the internet for years and this is the best recipe by far!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I just baked this today. I tried the original recipe and also tried with the changes that another user suggested (sub. baking soda and add 1/4 c milk). I did not like either version of this recipe. It didn't taste good and didn't have much chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake was a disappointment. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We baked this cake today. Oh my gosh it is so delicious and it really is moist! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This cake is dense and moist making it perfect for cupcakes and small loaf molds (in addition to cakes). I read the reviews before I made it and took into consideration several people thought its flavor was bland. I doubled the cocoa powder, used baking POWDER instead of baking soda and increased the milk by adding an additional 3/4 cup. In a few of the cupcakes, (as a test) I threw in about 10 milk chocolate chips. The chips melted leaving a nice, moist and creamy chocolately inside that increased the flavor. It was delicious! Not too sweet but a true chocolate flavor! This is my new recipe for chocolate cake! Peanut butter buttercream frosting really works well with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Genoa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States