Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Super Crystal
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I took Karins advice and made them into cupcakes. They came out amazing! So moist and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
By far the best chocolate cake I have made so far! It is dence enough to frost without falling apart but melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Best cake recipe ever! I've used it for four years now and its still the best! Its perfect with the pillsbury chocolate fudge icing! It also makes the best vanilla cake by not adding cocoa powder!! I recommend this recipe ro all of my friends and family and would definitely recommend this recpe to anyone who needs the perfect chocoate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I followed as written, I used baking powder instead of baking soda. Problem with this cake was that it was NOT moist. Other than that had a nice taste to it. Instead of putting frosting on it, I sprinkled some powdered sugar on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I think this recipe needs more work. its good but not good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. A tip for those that want a more chocolatey taste, I changed the recipe to 3 Tbsp of Special Dark cocoa & 3 Tbsp cocoa. Also I added a 1/2 package of instant Jello pudding (chocolate or fudge) if you add the pudding mix you will need more milk. After I have made these changes I have only used this one for chocolate cupcakes & all my kids are always asked to make it for their school functions. The way I make it yields exactly 30 cupcakes & in my oven 18 minutes. But for those that don't like chocolate as much I stick with the origional reipe, either way I have never had one complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Best cake ever! Made it multiple times and it turns out amazing every time. It's my go to recipe for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried it and it came out pretty well. Though I substituted milk with butter milk. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. Like the other reviewers I made a couple of tweaks that enhanced the original recipe. I do agree with the substitution of baking powder. In addition, when making a substitution using baking powder, the type of cocoa powder needs to change as well as the amount of baking powder used. I doubled the amount of baking powder to 3 teaspoons. I used Dutch process cocoa that gave the cake a richer look and added the chocolaty taste that others said was lacking. The use of Dutch process is usually the rule of thumb when using baking powder. Be careful because unless the original recipe calls for Dutch process you shouldn't just substitute it because many times you have to make other adjustments. But, since I am doing a makeover to the original recipe by making a change with the leavening agent I decided to make this change as well. In addition, instead of using extra milk I added 2/3 of a cup of mayonnaise for moistness. Wow! What a difference. The cake was awesome! A moist, rich chocolate cake that garnered compliments from many of my willing guinea pigs who tried it. I also added a whipped chocolate frosting. This cake is a chocolate lovers dream for sure. I hope this helps others to achieve great results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This cake recipe is simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States