Best Marinated Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Excellent! I marinated a whole 5lb chicken (using Tamari & skipping the orange zest) for about 20 hrs. I loosened the skin & poured the marinade right under the skin, the rest in the cavity. 350 degrees on the gas grill rotisserie. Got too busy, so I over cooked the thighs to 185 degrees. The breast was still perfectly moist. The meat practically fell off the bones without feeling greasy. The crispy skin on the wings was the best. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I'm sorry to say that this recipe has very o.k. on flavor and not outstanding. I followed the recipe to the T. Found that considering the amount and price of the sesame oil, it wasn't worth the taste or effort. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
omitted brown sugar, change orange zest to lemon zest , mustard powder and sweet and low for honey mustard,reduced paprika to 1tsp to lower sugar meeting sons HFI dietary needs. almost 0 sucrose and fructose in recipe now and it was wonderful grilled with hickory. this is a BIG keeper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We had just come home from taking our dogs to the vet, and I wanted to BBQ some chicken. I went to Allrecipes.com and searched for "grilled chicken". Best Marinated Grilled Chicken came up. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was better than I would have ever expected. This would be a great dish to fix at a summer picnic. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Excellent flavor, wonderful result. I prepared this marinade the night before and put the marinating chicken breasts in the fridge overnight. I did cut the breasts in half and also separated the tenders to maranade separately. Basically, I had really thick pieces, average thickness and thin (tenders) pieces. I cook each group with different start or end times depending on the event. During my dinner party, I lost track of time and severely overcooked the thicker and average thickness chicken pieces. My digital thermometer showed 190 to 200 degrees by the time I pulled the chicken off of the grill. I like 165 and slightly more. The long marinade soak time saved the meal. The chicken was moist and tender throughout. I was amazed. The only problem I found with the recipe is that it calls for rice wine. At my local grocery, we decided it was 'sake', not rice wine vinegar so I used the sake. I really don't know what was expected. All in all, a 5 star marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is so easy and the chicken came out so moist!!! Will definitely continue making over and over! I took the advise of others and I marinaded my chicken before I put it in the freezer and when I need it, it will be ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
The instructions provided on cutting/butterflying the bird were perfect. I never thought it could be so easy! The marinade was good, but not worthy of 5 stars. (The left-over chicken made some killer chicken salads the following day.) I'm anxious to try this cooking technique with other marinades and spice rubs. Keep a close eye on the grill. The marinade is oily and can really get the fire going. Oh, and be prepared... the seasame oil is a little expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This unusual melange of ingredients somehow came together to produce a deliciously moist grilled chicken. I used 1.5 cups prepared Italian dressing instead of the listed water/dry dressing mix and minced parsley, chives and tarragon (no chervil) for the fines herbs. Marinated bone-in breasts overnight and grilled on a gas grill over a bed of rosemary. Despite the strong flavors in the marinade, not one particular flavor stood out -- thanks for the recipe DIXYCHIK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I replaced the water with half water and half asian sesame dressing otherwise I left everything else the same. I marinated overnight chuncks of chicken, beef, peppers, onions, and zucchini then skewered and grilled them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have to admit this is some of the BEST marinated grilled chicken we've had from this site. I marinated this for 8 hours so I wanted to concentrate the marinade -leave out the water there's no purpose for it, add more of one of the liquids if it's too thick. I used boneless chicken that I pounded down to 1/2 inch. I used olive oil vs. sesame and dijon vs. honey mustard. I also used 2 tsp. of liquid smoke and because I didn't use water I used 2 Tbsp. of orange juice vs. orange zest. I also didn't have fines herbs so I used a combination of parsley, tarragon and marjoram. The brown sugar made everything carmelize on the grill and the result was a moist sweet, yet smoky herbed chicken breast. I didn't even use the rosemary that I had as I had forgotten all about it. Simply delicious and one to make for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States