Best Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I used a good olive oil in place of the vegetable oil and added 1/2 cup of white wine. The wine really enhances all the flavors. I've used this several times and found it is a great sauce to simmer with the large Italian sausages from Costco. Some nights I prepare the pasta, covering half with the marinara sauce and the other half with grated mizithra cheese and a good browned-butter & garlic sauce. The combined flavors make really happy taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Good basic sauce. Very basic and nice. I added fennel seeds and a couple tablespoons of half & half to bring down the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Excellent sauce. Like a few other reviewers, I added a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes and increased the garlic to three cloves. I also used 2 full cans of tomatoes. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I like this recipe I just substituted celery salt and used whole canned tomatoes and used a hand blender to make it the consistency I liked. Seasonings to me and family were right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this with fresh italian parsley, basil, and a bit of oregano. I added water because I served it with homemade meatballs and I needed enough sauce to let them all simmer together. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowmommy22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good and quick! I cut the recipe to 4 servings as I only needed a dipping sauce for munchies. This went over very well. It couldn't be quicker to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good sauce - I did however cut the amout of onion down to 1/4 cup though and sauteed that along with the garlic and celery in olive oil instead of veg. oil. I also used one can of crushed tomatoes instead of one and a half - I mean what's the need of opening up an extra can. This really makes enough sauce. I had fresh basil on hand so I subbed that for the dry. This is a very thick sauce so if you're like me and don't want it as thick add 1/2 cup of white wine or water. A number of reviewers commented on this sauce being "tangy", that comes from the acidity of the tomatoes. To combat that I always add about 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I let the sauce some to a boil for a few minutes, then let it simmer for a couple hours. It's great over angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a good and easy throw together marinara sauce. I wouldnt say is was the best but it was good. It was a little on the tangy side. Ill probably tweak it a little next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very easy, inexpensive, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Gave it a 5 star for simplicity and good flavor. I like to add more spices and play with it but as is, it's a very good, very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States