Best Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Best Marinara Haiku: "Woah, this makes a ton! And it's very thick as well. I froze half of it." I only used one 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes, and was fine that way b/c the sauce was really thick as it was, and I didn't want to open up another can just for half. Better than a jarred sauce, absolutely, but still needed ... something. I let is simmer for several hours, and checked on its flavor around 2 hrs., thinking it needed a bit of sugar, which helped cut the acidity. Served it w/ garlic breadsticks, parmesan chicken, and Chef John's butter roasted cauliflower, and it complemented everything nicely, so I'll look forward to thawing the other frozen half of it for use on just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy to make and so versatile! The only change I make to the basic recipe is to add some cocoa powder to cut the acidity of tomatoes and give depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Truly lives up to the title of the Best. I substituted fresh basil and oregano and used celery seed instead of celery and added a fresh tomato from the garden. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Have found the recipe very easy, but as others have stated they have added sugar to cut the acidity. I prefer to do this by adding several carrots or a can of carrots instead of sugar. Besides it adds quite a bit of Vitamin A .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have been using a recipe exactly like this for 20 years - It is so versatile. Use either one or two cans of tomatoes, if I leave a 1/2 can in the fridge, I'll just have to throw it out later. Use a medium onion. No need for precise measuring here. Also, use whatever canned tomatoes you have: diced, whole, they are all fine. I agree with others to add Tbsp of brown sugar. I often add a red bell pepper, and sometimes some chili pepper flakes, depending on what the marinara is used for. Yep, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Excellent.....used tomatoes I put up last fall. Followed it to the letter. Thank you.....**smiles**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is just great, did not change one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Prepared this recipe as written. It was OK. Better than most jar sauce. But nowhere near the best marinara I have had. Perhaps some red wine and added simmer time would develop the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Like others have said this is a great basic marinara. Simple and flavorful on its own yet easily dressed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I increased the oil a touch and use EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I didn't want to measure out the onion, I used one medium sweet onion. After tasting the sauce once it had time to simmer, I did add more basil and oregano because it didn't seem to be enough for me. This was a nice, basic marinara that was a bit on the thicker side. It went well over ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States