Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We really enjoyed this with Chef John's Italian meatballs and spaghetti. I sauteed the onions in just 2 T olive oil (I didn't think it needed 6) for a couple of mins, added the garlic (3 cloves instead of 1), then added about 1/4 teaspoon crushed chili peppers just for a few seconds. Stirred in diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and about 1/2 cup tomato sauce. Used about 1 Tablespoon dried parsley and didn't have white wine so I used dry sherry instead. Simmered for about 40 mins. Everything else I kept as written. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing, I added 4oz of fresh basil leaves and like other reviews 1 tbs of brown sugar. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mjmmisty
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. I used extra garlic and freeze dried parsley because that's all I had in the house. I browned ground beef mixed with onion and garlic and added the sauce to simmer for 45 mins. I added some extra water at the end be usage it was a bit thick for us. I've made it without meat too but my hubby loves meat sauce. This is a great sauce to make on a weekend. It's fast and easy! I highly recommend for everyone. In the photo attached I'm still cooking but it already tasted delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
LOVE this! I like to leave ours chunky & add a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I'm never buying jarred sauce again!!! I prepared the recipe just as stated except I added some sugar since the cheap white cooking wine I used made it slightly on the tart side. It balanced the flavor perfectly. This sauce is d-licious! I'm definitely doubling or tripling the recipe next time and will freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This sauce is deliciously easy to make, as well as wonderfully flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This really is lovely! Nice consistency but I did make a few changes. I used vegetable stock rather than white wine; I used shallots rather than onions; I used fresh oregano rather than dried and I didn't put any of it in a processor. I placed the tinned tomatoes, tomato paste, chopped parsley, minced garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper into the skillet, heated it up and then added the veg stock. I also added a chopped up vine tomato. I simmered it for 30 mins and so it kept a bit of chunkiness which we like. It was a lovely sauce great for minced beef, seafood or by itself. I would highly recommend giving it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Super! Making with fresh herbs and tomatoes out of the garden I have peeled, chopped, and boiled down. Plan on canning this over and over with a few changes. I added 1 T worshishire sauce and omitted wine (I live in a dry county) and onion. Smells and tastes yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicioso! I made this for an eggplant parm recipe and it turned out PERFECT. I made the recipe as directed, except I added some fresh basil instead of the parsley. The consistency is excellent, not too thin or thick. This made enough for probably three batches of eggplant so I now have leftover for spaghetti! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I added 3 times the amount of garlic suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe Fazio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States