Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Oh WOW. So easy and so delicious!!! I doubled the batch but will triple or quadruple it for freezing next time. I sautéed the onion in garlic flavored olive oil, used Italian style stewed tomatoes and Italian style tomato paste. I didn't taste any bitterness but added a tad of sugar just in case. I am going to make Chef John's meatless meatballs tomorrow for a vegetarian friend and put them in her fridge with this lovely sauce so she will have something to eat when she comes home from visiting her family out of state. Thanks so much for sharing this, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Didn't like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was spot on! I used crushed tomatoes instead an the consistency was perfect. I used abt 3 cloves of garlic as I love the flavor and I didnt have any white wine on hand, so i used chicken broth. I also used abt 2 tbsp of brown sugar to help with the acidity. This was perfect for my chicken parmigiana and as a dipping sauce for my fried mac and cheese and fried mozzarella sticks. Will definitely make this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I love this sauce- even my meat eating friends say it is superior to theirs! I use crushed tomatoes instead of stewed as those have corn syrup in them. This eliminates the need to bust out the food processor as well. I use vermouth as I never have white wine around and add a shredded carrot to help with acidity. I also jack up the garlic and cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is my new go-to marinara sauce! So much tastier than the jarred stuff, and I know what is in it. Used it last week in my zucchini lasagna and will be using it tomorrow for eggplant florentini. I did substitute chicken broth for the wine and added a few extra cloves of garlic (we love garlic). I'm gonna make a triple batch tomorrow and freeze some for those busy nights. Thanks for such a simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So good and easy.... Not buying the jars again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've probably tried 100 or more variations of marinara. I now have a new favorite! Only helpful comment I can make is to simmer for closer to an hour in order to thicken and bring out all of the wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious. And I messed a lot of things up and got away with it: I forgot to buy an onion and used/burnt a shallot instead; I added onion powder because of the onion incident; and, I also used unmeasured fresh basil, oregano, and parsley. I think the key is the white wine --- it makes it delicious. I used cheap pino Grigio and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Really liked it. Blended the seasonings and tomato products in the Vitamix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The only time I ever made marinara sauce I used this recipe. It won the marinara contest at the local Italian fest. I'm not even Italian. What does THAT tell you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States