Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This sauce was okay as is. Good starter. I like red wine with my red sauces. Personal prefrence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueannP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Pretty good! Didn't change anything - may try it with red wine next time and add some more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this with tomatoes from my garden, so first I made them into stewed tomatoes using "Italian Stewed Tomatoes" recipe from this site. It's WONDERFUL! Then I ran out and made some with store bought stewed tomatoes and it was icky comparatively speaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I tried it with Italian seasoning instead of oregano and left out the white wine, it still came out wowing the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this tonight. The guys LOVED it (I don't like anything with tomatos). The prep time took me more like 30 minutes. But that is because (gasp) I have never minced garlic before. I usually use the powder/salt. Decided to take a chance. It took me a while. I did make adjustments from other reviewers. Did 2 cloves garlic. Added basil, brown sugar and a tad of Italian seasoning. Also, made sure I got the salt free stewed tomatos. Reduced the olive oil (I don't measure, just eye it). Also did not use the wine. My husband does not like wine based sauces. Instead, I used 1/2 cup of the pasta water (A tip I learned from Alton Brown). The guys said it tasted like they were at a restaurant! Yay me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Zagaja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We really enjoyed this with Chef John's Italian meatballs and spaghetti. I sauteed the onions in just 2 T olive oil (I didn't think it needed 6) for a couple of mins, added the garlic (3 cloves instead of 1), then added about 1/4 teaspoon crushed chili peppers just for a few seconds. Stirred in diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and about 1/2 cup tomato sauce. Used about 1 Tablespoon dried parsley and didn't have white wine so I used dry sherry instead. Simmered for about 40 mins. Everything else I kept as written. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing, I added 4oz of fresh basil leaves and like other reviews 1 tbs of brown sugar. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mjmmisty
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. I used extra garlic and freeze dried parsley because that's all I had in the house. I browned ground beef mixed with onion and garlic and added the sauce to simmer for 45 mins. I added some extra water at the end be usage it was a bit thick for us. I've made it without meat too but my hubby loves meat sauce. This is a great sauce to make on a weekend. It's fast and easy! I highly recommend for everyone. In the photo attached I'm still cooking but it already tasted delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
LOVE this! I like to leave ours chunky & add a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I'm never buying jarred sauce again!!! I prepared the recipe just as stated except I added some sugar since the cheap white cooking wine I used made it slightly on the tart side. It balanced the flavor perfectly. This sauce is d-licious! I'm definitely doubling or tripling the recipe next time and will freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States