Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicioso! I made this for an eggplant parm recipe and it turned out PERFECT. I made the recipe as directed, except I added some fresh basil instead of the parsley. The consistency is excellent, not too thin or thick. This made enough for probably three batches of eggplant so I now have leftover for spaghetti! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I added 3 times the amount of garlic suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe Fazio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graycebee
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I really love this. I made the mistake of simmering it with the lid on, which made it sort of watery. That was my fault so I give it 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graycebee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
No. I should have turned away when I saw stewed tomatoes and tomato paste, white wine, black pepper, onion and only 1 glove of garlic. This recipe was just a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I was looking for a quick pasta sauce to make for my bf's birthday - something simple but tasty and this was fantastic! I had never made my own sauce and I was so pleased. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I didn't have white wine on hand, so I tried champagne/sparkling white wine and it came out perfectly. The second time around I decided to use regular white wine (as the recipe suggests) and it came out tasting sour. I recommend using champagne and you won't need to use any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great recipe and super easy. In addition, I added: 3 anchovies (canned in oil, about 1 tablespoon mashed) 1 red pepper (needed to use it, and it added some sweetness) 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of wine Used 1 whole onion because I love onions Used a bit more garlic, probably 2-3 cloves, because garlic is delicious Also used dried parsley instead of fresh as it is all I had Added about 10 small fresh basil leaves at the end just before serving. Note: If you can use good quality San Marzano tomatoes for this, I highly suggest it! AMAZING. Simmered on low for about 50 minutes because it's so thick that it splatters a lot. Make sure you have a lid and are wearing long sleeves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Perfect marinara I've ever had. Read a few reviews and made the following changes. Added 2 more cloves of garlic because I'm a garlic lover and I didn't have white wine on hand so I substituted apple cider vinegar! It was perfect! The bf absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Used this for cauliflower pizza crust and it was amazing!!! I didn't used the whole 6 tablespoons for sautéing the onion; I only used 3 and it was fine. Next time I make this I'll add some brown sugar to take down the acidity and maybe add a little basil :-) It's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This really is the best marinara sauce yet. I use whole italian tomatoes and added fresh basil towards the end of cooking. Just the right consistancy and flavor was spot on! You do need to add a pinch of sugar as you would with most tomato sauce recipes. This was perfect on my chicken parmesan and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States