Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Perfection! Lovely texture. I did add two extra cloves garlic and one tablespoon brown sugar. Easy as pie to make and endless ideas for serving, such as using half the sauce and break 4 eggs into sauce, bake until eggs are just set, then serve on toast as a warm winter breakfast or brunch. Goes very well as a sauce for baked lamb chops, but add 1 cup water to maintain sauce consistancy. Also as a flavourful sauce over chicken or a thick portion of white fish (cod). Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Awesome Recipe. I pretty much followed it exactly. I added more Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Awesome recipe. I added 3 cloves of Garlic. I also finely diced a WHOLE sweet onion. I used about 3 tablespoons of fresh parsley ...fresh taste, not too strong. I read in one of the reviews to use crushed tomatoes. I don't have a good processor, so this was a great option!! I used this with Chicken Parmesan. It worked perfectly alongside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I absolutely love the idea of using a food processor (I used a blender) because my kids freak out if they see tomato pieces. I fried the onions first so I could blend them up too. Because I used a blender they couldn't even see the fresh herbs. My flavor didn't come out very well but I can certainly tweak some things to tailor it. The base is solid and this is easy to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Love this sauce. It is my go to sauce for all pasta dishes. Haven't used store bought since I started making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best marinara sauce ever! And so easy to make. I haven't bought the jarred stuff since trying this. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Made this recipe over the weekend and loved it. I did have to substitute on can of diced tomatoes for the stewed because I only had one but I really don't think it made much of a difference. I have issues with cooking with wine because the receipes rarely tell you a type to use. I googled it and kept coming up with don't use a wine you wouldn't drink, well I wouldn't drink any dry white wine so I went with a sweet. It turned out great. I didn't need the sugar I've seen in a lot of reviews so I guess I did an okay job. Overall I'd recommend this recipe and I loved that I could use my own organic ingredients, made be feel better about eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've been looking for a marinara sauce recipe that tastes close to my favorite Italian restaurant, and this is it!!! Yum! I didn't have white wine, so used a little bit of red and it was yummy. Also added little bit of sugar for some sweetness. Very easy to make and will definitely make again!! Should have made double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This sauce turned out really yummy! I am going to double the recipe next time though, because there wasn't much left for left-overs. I added a tablespoon of sugar, and used a good red wine instead of white. I also used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I had tried Giada's marinara and it was way too acidic, so I came across this recipe and was excited that it had so many great reviews. During cooking, it did seem a bit acidic to me, so I used a bit of brown sugar. But other than that, I followed the recipe using a dry pinot grigio. I've read that dry white wine is very common in red sauces in Italy and adds a lovely, bright flavor. Be sure to reduce. I used San Marzano whole tomatoes & store brand paste. I hand crushed the tomatoes before whizzing everything in the blender for a bit. My roomie and I, since we usually use jarred sauce, were honestly confused as to how it was supposed to taste, but we both loved it. It tasted light & fresh, if a bit liquid-y for my preference. Next time I might try chicken broth instead of wine to cut down on cost, add a bit more garlic and reduce longer for a thicker sauce. Great recipe, will use again! *Update* Making it now, used chicken broth, 1T brown sugar, 2t dried parsley, 1T dried Italian herbs - my herbs are always on the aged side and less potent, so I use a bit more. I sauteed the herbs with the onion & garlic for a good 15 minutes to "open" them up a bit and allow all those flavors to emerge. Simmered sauce one hour. Still unbelievably delicious! Don't be afraid to sub broth for the wine. And for the simplicity of the recipe, it smells incredible. So try it as written first, taste as you go along and tweak to your personal preference. Fantastic recipe ~ a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States