Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I would suggest after the onion has been sauteed, add the wine and let it reduce to cook off the alcohol. Then add the sauce ingredients and simmer. Also, I would use good canned Italian tomatoes in puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great sauce! And very easy to prepare. I sued crushed tomatoes rather than stewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
A great sauce. The only thing I did was add a teaspoon of sugar just to add that dimension. I use it in my chicken Parmesan.....my daughter-in-law couldn't believe I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
One of the best Marinara sauces I've ever tried. I used about half the recommended oil and I doubled up the garlic. I've used it with cannelloni and grilled mozzarella sandwiches. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved this easy recipe! Very easy to freeze and use later. I used 4 tablespoons of olive oil rather than 6 and 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar instead of 1/2 white wine. Tasted great! I would suggest starting with 1/8 cup of apple cider vinegar and tasting first before you add the remaining 1/8th cup as this flavor is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylinLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have tweaked it a little bit by using the crushed tomatoes and I only use 1/8 if not less of the wine. My picky kids really like it as a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I gave it 4 stars only because I had to modify it to get it just right, but otherwise it was great. I added 4 tbsp fresh basil, an extra clove of garlic, and 1 tbsp of Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I also replaced the stewed tomatoes with a combination of crushed tomatoes and canned tomato sauce (didn't measure, just sort of proportioned it out 2 parts crushed to 1 part sauce), and I reduced the wine by about 25% (just eyeballed it), and added 1 tbsp of brown sugar per some other recommendations... 2 days after I made this, my husband asked me to make more, so I quadrupled the recipe to freeze some also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Although this recipe has been posted for a while, I just discovered and made this today. It is AMAZING - just delicious! I made the recipe as listed with just a couple of revisions - I used two cloves of garlic instead of one as I like a bit of extra flavor and I omitted the white wine as I am not a big drinker or user of alcohol. Came out great! Made just enough for a nice batch of manicotti. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Love this recipe! Fast and easy. Only change I made was I used 1/4 cup of wine and 1/4 cup of chicken broth so my kids wouldn't get even a hint of the wine. I too used crushed tomatoes but still put it through the food processor. Made a double batch so I will have some on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe, made it for work with a meatball recipe i got from on here and they both were a big hit. I made a double batch and added 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of water cause i didn't have any white wine. Turned out awesome.. I have some leftover sauce so going to make speghetti for dinner tonight.. Wonderful recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States