Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have tweaked it a little bit by using the crushed tomatoes and I only use 1/8 if not less of the wine. My picky kids really like it as a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I gave it 4 stars only because I had to modify it to get it just right, but otherwise it was great. I added 4 tbsp fresh basil, an extra clove of garlic, and 1 tbsp of Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I also replaced the stewed tomatoes with a combination of crushed tomatoes and canned tomato sauce (didn't measure, just sort of proportioned it out 2 parts crushed to 1 part sauce), and I reduced the wine by about 25% (just eyeballed it), and added 1 tbsp of brown sugar per some other recommendations... 2 days after I made this, my husband asked me to make more, so I quadrupled the recipe to freeze some also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Although this recipe has been posted for a while, I just discovered and made this today. It is AMAZING - just delicious! I made the recipe as listed with just a couple of revisions - I used two cloves of garlic instead of one as I like a bit of extra flavor and I omitted the white wine as I am not a big drinker or user of alcohol. Came out great! Made just enough for a nice batch of manicotti. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Love this recipe! Fast and easy. Only change I made was I used 1/4 cup of wine and 1/4 cup of chicken broth so my kids wouldn't get even a hint of the wine. I too used crushed tomatoes but still put it through the food processor. Made a double batch so I will have some on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe, made it for work with a meatball recipe i got from on here and they both were a big hit. I made a double batch and added 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of water cause i didn't have any white wine. Turned out awesome.. I have some leftover sauce so going to make speghetti for dinner tonight.. Wonderful recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Love it, so easy just chuck everythign into a blender and thn put it on the stove, so easy and yet so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samyehsilver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This sauce is delicious and so easy to make! I've put it in my Recipe Box and copied by hand into a book of favorite recipes. The only changes I made was to add 1 t. of dried basil and 1 TB brown sugar. I can stop looking for marinara recipes! Thank you, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My Italian husband was skeptical with this recipe since it did not contain basil and used stewed tomatoes and wine. Needless to say it was loved by everyone in the family and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent easy sauce to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States