Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
DON'T ADD BROWN SUGAR, PEOPLE! I added this as some reviewers said to do. BAD IDEA! Now, my 10 servings of sauce is ruined because I hate sweet sauce. Ugh. I'm 0 for 2 tonight on all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SL Gemmill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Very easy to make. I made some adjustments to suit my taste and what I had on hand. I used about 10 medium sized garden tomatoes. I only used 2 tablespoons of olive oil and I used dried parsley rather than fresh. I also added 2 tablespoons of sugar. I let it simmer for about 4 hours and then blended the whole mixture to make it smooth. I then added some cooked ground turkey to the mix to make a meat sauce. It is way better than the canned stuff! Will continue to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
paired with the meatball nirvana recipe makes the best meatball sandwiches ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
We made this to go on a meatball sandwich, and it was pretty darn good. The white wine taste was a bit strong to me, so next time I'll use chicken stock instead. It was also too acidic, so I added a teaspoon or so of sugar to mellow things out. That made a huge difference. Overall, though, it was a quick and delicious recipe! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Amazingly easy and good! My husband hates onions, so I left those out. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, so that I could avoid the processor, and added a Tbsp. of brown sugar to counteract the acidity. (Stewed tomatoes include more sugar.) I am at a high altitude, so I cooked it all about 10 minutes longer. Just wonderful ... I'm happy to have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very delicious! This was my first try at from-scratch marinara sauce, and we love it. I've made it twice now and both times I've been surprised at how easy it is. The consistency is perfect. I think the only modification I may make next time is adding a tad more pepper or maybe some red pepper flakes, I think it could be a little spicier and be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this tonight with tomatoes from the garden it was a huge batch so I added what I thought would be about the same amounts of ingredients. I had heard from my sister that she made a marinara with butter so instead of oil I used butter to sauté my onions and garlic in before adding the tomatoes. I didn't have white wine so I didn't use any and it was still great. It was VERY delicious! We will defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Lovely. I wanted to make my own pasta sauce since we use it a lot, and store-bought has waaaay more sodium than I want, especially for my toddler. This is so good. I used a rather sweet German white wine. I might try changing up the herbs or adding chili peppers for some more spice, or even adding red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
It is so yummy but was a little thick so I added a 1/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflieswish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States