Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Excellent marinara, not too sweet, not too tart, and super fast and easy. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
So simple and So Good - perfect. I used Red Wine instead of White and for those who say they can taste the wine - either did not simmer it for the 30 min or more or it's in your head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Loizeaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a great base recipe that produces a perfect consistency--no watery puddle under the pasta! My wife is Italian (I'm German), and she said she liked this recipe more than her grandma's! I agree with most of the reviewers that suggest 1) less olive oil, as 6 tablespoons is too much. I'd go with 4; 2) Add 1 tablespoon of sugar to help cut down the acidity; and 3) More garlic. I went with 3 grated cloves. Beyond that, I'd add more salt (maybe double?). But you can judge that by tasting the sauce as it simmers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My husband loves this sauce. Like so many other reviewers, I will never buy prepared sauce again. It was great using in my favorite lasagne recipe. The only revision was that I added 1 tsp of dried basil and 1 Tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time as a marinara using 2 cans of crushed tomatoes. I did not use (because I did not have) paste, however, the tomatoes were not watery so the paste wasn't missed as the sauce was nice and thick without it. I did take the advice of other reviews and added 1 tbsp of brown sugar to cut the bitterness (remember to always taste your tomatoes before adding sugar as sometimes you they are already sweet enough and unless you like a sweet sauce the sugar can make it too much so - also brown sugar does work better than white) and added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. This was a very tasty sauce. The second time I decided to try this recipe as a meat sauce. I used 4 cans of tomato (2 crushed / 2 puree) and this time I did use paste. I used 1.25 lbs of 80% fat chop meat and browned that right in the pot - because of this, I only sauteed the onion and garlic (4 large cloves as we love garlic) in 2 tbsp of Olive Oil. Once these were sauteed to translucent, I added the chop meat which extracted more (and flavor)and satueed this for a bit before adding my paste. Once that was all incorporated I added the tomatoes, and in place of wine (not having it on hand) the 1c (don't forget I am using 4 cans of tomato)of chicken broth (as suggested by another reviewer). I put this over low heat and after it warmed I added the dry ingredients. This is a flavorful and hearty thick sauce. Great for the lasagna and the jumbo stuffed shells I will be using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was a great quick and easy marinara sauce. Instead of the stewed tomatoes I used fresh, peeled tomatoes as my garden went crazy and I had to do something with all those tomatoes. I would saute the garlic with the onions next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've made this a few times now and every time it's great! I will usually make it the day before so that the flavors have time to blend and settle. It's so easy that I'll usually just whip it together while I'm making that night's dinner. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Used this for a veggie lasagna recipe and it's wonderful! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
DON'T ADD BROWN SUGAR, PEOPLE! I added this as some reviewers said to do. BAD IDEA! Now, my 10 servings of sauce is ruined because I hate sweet sauce. Ugh. I'm 0 for 2 tonight on all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SL Gemmill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States