Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is the perfect marinara sauce. I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this until now. I make this in triple batches with no tweaking. This is without a doubt better the day after making and I freeze the extra sauce. The wine I use is Woodbridge? Sweet White by Robert Mondavi . The Sweet White helps to balance the acidity of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Same as my recipe only I also use 1 tsp of basil as well. This recipe has served me well for years. It will be a fine addition to anyone's box, the secret is the stewed tomatoes. I've made it countless different ways substituting various things in, but I always go back to this. Pinot Grigio seems to taste the best in my version of this. I often cook 1 lb of sweet Italian sausage in the sauce, drop them right in raw and let it simmer for 3 hours to blend the flavors. Give it a try, it's excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Perfection! Lovely texture. I did add two extra cloves garlic and one tablespoon brown sugar. Easy as pie to make and endless ideas for serving, such as using half the sauce and break 4 eggs into sauce, bake until eggs are just set, then serve on toast as a warm winter breakfast or brunch. Goes very well as a sauce for baked lamb chops, but add 1 cup water to maintain sauce consistancy. Also as a flavourful sauce over chicken or a thick portion of white fish (cod). Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Awesome Recipe. I pretty much followed it exactly. I added more Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Awesome recipe. I added 3 cloves of Garlic. I also finely diced a WHOLE sweet onion. I used about 3 tablespoons of fresh parsley ...fresh taste, not too strong. I read in one of the reviews to use crushed tomatoes. I don't have a good processor, so this was a great option!! I used this with Chicken Parmesan. It worked perfectly alongside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I absolutely love the idea of using a food processor (I used a blender) because my kids freak out if they see tomato pieces. I fried the onions first so I could blend them up too. Because I used a blender they couldn't even see the fresh herbs. My flavor didn't come out very well but I can certainly tweak some things to tailor it. The base is solid and this is easy to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Love this sauce. It is my go to sauce for all pasta dishes. Haven't used store bought since I started making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best marinara sauce ever! And so easy to make. I haven't bought the jarred stuff since trying this. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Made this recipe over the weekend and loved it. I did have to substitute on can of diced tomatoes for the stewed because I only had one but I really don't think it made much of a difference. I have issues with cooking with wine because the receipes rarely tell you a type to use. I googled it and kept coming up with don't use a wine you wouldn't drink, well I wouldn't drink any dry white wine so I went with a sweet. It turned out great. I didn't need the sugar I've seen in a lot of reviews so I guess I did an okay job. Overall I'd recommend this recipe and I loved that I could use my own organic ingredients, made be feel better about eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've been looking for a marinara sauce recipe that tastes close to my favorite Italian restaurant, and this is it!!! Yum! I didn't have white wine, so used a little bit of red and it was yummy. Also added little bit of sugar for some sweetness. Very easy to make and will definitely make again!! Should have made double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States