Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Here goes peeps, This is the best Marinara Sauce on this site. The only thing I did not put in was the Wine. I didn't have any and so many others said it was great without it, so I trusted them and made it. I also will never eat store bought again. I might even try with Wine the next time. Thank you for the recipe Sweetie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy L Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very good. Had to use a can of crushed tomatoes and a Can of diced. That's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
An essential recipe in my household! It freezes well, so we make a quadruple batch. We throw in maybe 3 or 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1. Sauvignon Blanc is our favorite wine to use - just sweet enough (the wine here is replacing table sugar after all), not woody like chardonnays tend to be, and with a bright crisp citrus-like quality that works really well with the tomatoes. Right now I have a pot on the stove so I can use up a bottle of Chenin Blanc, and that seems to be working well too. This is a much fresher, more acidic taste than you get with prepared tomato sauces on the supermarket shelves, so you really only want to cook it 30 minutes or until the flavors blend. If you want something that tastes more like jarred sauce, I would look for a different recipe that has a 2-3 hour cook time and uses sugar instead of wine... though once you try this recipe, you may never want the other kind again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gledhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
So amazing! This sauce was spectacular. I used a Pinot Grigio and it was fantastic! I will absolutely make this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Recipe as given is delicious!!! I can't believe I've never thought of blending my sauces in a blender, I like the consistency. I add fresh basil, extra garlic, italian seasoning, and a tablespoon of brown sugar. For a heavier meaty sauce I cooked lean ground beef and sweet Italian sausage with the onions, drained, then poured in the marinara. Served with fresh parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This recipe was okay, but only after quite a bit of altering. To start, the amount of oil seems excessive. I doubled the garlic, and I would add more onion next time. I added about a half a teaspoon of garlic salt, 1 tablespoons of brown sugar to even out the super tart taste, and 1 teaspoon of dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is the perfect marinara sauce. I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this until now. I make this in triple batches with no tweaking. This is without a doubt better the day after making and I freeze the extra sauce. The wine I use is Woodbridge Sweet White by Robert Mondavi . The Sweet White helps to balance the acidity of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Same as my recipe only I also use 1 tsp of basil as well. This recipe has served me well for years. It will be a fine addition to anyone's box, the secret is the stewed tomatoes. I've made it countless different ways substituting various things in, but I always go back to this. Pinot Grigio seems to taste the best in my version of this. I often cook 1 lb of sweet Italian sausage in the sauce, drop them right in raw and let it simmer for 3 hours to blend the flavors. Give it a try, it's excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Perfection! Lovely texture. I did add two extra cloves garlic and one tablespoon brown sugar. Easy as pie to make and endless ideas for serving, such as using half the sauce and break 4 eggs into sauce, bake until eggs are just set, then serve on toast as a warm winter breakfast or brunch. Goes very well as a sauce for baked lamb chops, but add 1 cup water to maintain sauce consistancy. Also as a flavourful sauce over chicken or a thick portion of white fish (cod). Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Awesome Recipe. I pretty much followed it exactly. I added more Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States