Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Perfect! I used for a catering gig. I did some things out of order. I sautéed onion, carrots, and celery, then added Campari tomatoes till soft, then tomato paste, then the wine. I then followed every step, except I added more garlic and some basil. Slow simmered for an hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I turned this into a meat sauce, but didn't change the rest of the recipe much. I read reviewers' suggestions & followed a few: added about 1/4 green bell pepper, about a Tbsp. of brown sugar, and more garlic. I browned some ground beef, tossed in the finely minced onion & minced bell pepper & sauteed that. I then poured in the puree & cooked for a 1/2 hr. I almost forgot--I used 2 Tbsp dried parsley since I didn't have any fresh. As a marinara, this is very good. It needs some tweeking to turn into an awesome meat sauce. I'll work on that next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blujnqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Easy and tasty. Don't overcook or its terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
INCREDIBLE! I pretty much followed the recipe to a t, but I threw in extra garlic because that's always a good idea. I've always kind of made up my own recipe for marinara before, and it was as good or better than anything I'd had before so I figured I'd done a pretty good job. But THIS recipe... my husband and I couldn't stop eating this out of the pan. It will definitely replace my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
First time making Marinara Sauce. This Recipe was very easy. I do not use wine, so I used Apple Juice as a substitute. It was better than store bought Marinara. I liked it, but it wasn't over the Top. Would I make it again? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Yes, I would say it's the best! This came together very quickly and with simple ingredients. Instead of stewed tomatoes, I used a large can of crushed tomatoes, so there was no need to process. I sauteed the onion and added 3 cloves of garlic for the last few minutes. Made some other minor changes: 1 tblsp of dried parsley, 1 tsp dried basil, a bay leaf and 2 tblsp of brown sugar. Better than anything you'd find at the grocery store or a fine restaurant! Thanks Jackie for this keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
The is the best marinara sauce ever! I used canned roasted tomatoes and I added a can of tomato sauce, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (it cuts down the acidity very well), 2 bay leaves, dried basil, heavy cream (in place of the milk), some crushed red pepper and I was very generous on the salt & black pepper. I used a tasty pinot grigio and used closer to half a cup. This is seriously SO good. The fresh parsley is a MUST and it's super easy if you have a food processor. You won't regret trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Here goes peeps, This is the best Marinara Sauce on this site. The only thing I did not put in was the Wine. I didn't have any and so many others said it was great without it, so I trusted them and made it. I also will never eat store bought again. I might even try with Wine the next time. Thank you for the recipe Sweetie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy L Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very good. Had to use a can of crushed tomatoes and a Can of diced. That's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
An essential recipe in my household! It freezes well, so we make a quadruple batch. We throw in maybe 3 or 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1. Sauvignon Blanc is our favorite wine to use - just sweet enough (the wine here is replacing table sugar after all), not woody like chardonnays tend to be, and with a bright crisp citrus-like quality that works really well with the tomatoes. Right now I have a pot on the stove so I can use up a bottle of Chenin Blanc, and that seems to be working well too. This is a much fresher, more acidic taste than you get with prepared tomato sauces on the supermarket shelves, so you really only want to cook it 30 minutes or until the flavors blend. If you want something that tastes more like jarred sauce, I would look for a different recipe that has a 2-3 hour cook time and uses sugar instead of wine... though once you try this recipe, you may never want the other kind again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gledhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States